Grateful For Your Kind Response

When I asked about your interest in a scrappy square quilt, you were kind and enthusiastic.

So, I am pushing ahead on the project.

That means a lot of cutting.

Here is what you need to do if you want to get started:

1. Pick a charm size: 2-1/2″, 2″ or 1-1/2″.  The 2-1/2″ charms will yield a quilt approximately 70″ square, if all goes according to plan.

2. Cut approximately 750 charms.  You can make them all different if you want.  Or you can pick a color.  Or use up those pre-cuts you have laying around.  It will take about 5 standard 5″ charm packs to make the required number of 2-1/2″ or 2″ charms.  If you have a number of single packs, this would be a good project.  Scrappy is happy!

3. Get a background fabric.  At this point I have not calculated how much.  But I can’t imagine it will be more than 2-3 yards.

4. Wait (hopefully patiently).  I am still cutting squares myself.  Hopefully the tutorial will be ready sometime around the middle of March. 

Oh, I forgot to mention that the working name of the quilt is Fading Charms

How does that sound to you?

11 responses to “Grateful For Your Kind Response

  1. I had put this on my summer list but today is a holiday, so kinda almost maybe a pre=summer day. Today, I shall start cutting 2 inch squares it will be a fun evening project during work days too!

  2. Fading Charms sounds like a fun quilt to me!!! i have several charm packs that i am going to use..can hardly wait for the tutorial..i know i said no more new ones til some of my UFOs are done but one of them is almost done so i will reward myself with this one!!! can hardly wait to see what it will look like..

  3. I’ve been cutting like mad for about the last month,it’s really kinda nice to have a definate project as a goal. I’m not certain I can do each stamp different but I do intend to try! {oh dear-i may need to buy more fabric…..} I’m going to continue to cut both 1.5 and 2.5 stamps as I have a burning need to fill my shoe boxes!! Fading charms is fine for a working name but I’m going to call mine “Swinging Stamps” as this quilt is destined to grace my front porch swing. I have a 120+ year old farmhouse and this will be just the brooch she needs to set her off. I agree with Merrie completely-we do deserve to reward ourselves as I too have completed a few U.F.O.’s. Take whatever time you need-we know it will be worth the wait!

  4. I can’t wait to see what we’re going to be making! Cutting as we “speak”!!! :)

  5. It sounds perfectly delightful to me! I’ll start counting my squares that live in a box. =)

  6. ‘Fading Charms’ sounds good to me. Can’t wait to start. I have a lot of 5″ charms and 2 1/2″ squares cut already. Now to wait for the starting gun. Whoooo Hooooo!!!!!

    Julie

  7. Fading Charms… dark to light maybe?
    I’d have loved to help you sort those buttons.

  8. networking woww.. very useful. thanks.. and two thumbs up for you.. My site networking is on a different topic but I will model some of your page formatting.

  9. I have a big box of both 2″ and 1-1/2″ squares – I’ll have to decide which to make.
    Lillian @ lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  10. I have a big box of 2 1/2 inch square, I’ll have to get counting.

  11. Pingback: April Sewing Journal

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

