Fading Charms Top Finished

Well, it is not picture weather here, but the Fading Charms top is finished and I really want to share.

It started with a 100-patch. Is that starting to sound boring? I really hope not, because the more I work with them the more ideas I have.

The idea for this pattern came to me while out walking one morning. It is hard to tell how the ideas in my head will translate on fabric. But, this one is close to what I originally imagined.

The background fabric is something called “weaver’s cloth.” I like the linen-ish texture of it, but NOT how easily it frays. I wouldn’t choose it again.

Thank you again to all who contributed squares to this project. As far as I know, each charm is a unique fabric. If you see a duplicate, pretend you didn’t, please, and let me keep my illusions. :) I wouldn’t want the charm of this quilt to fade.

This version uses 2-1/2″ squares and finishes at 72-1/2″.  If you use 2″ squares to start it will be 54-1/2″, and 36-1/2″ if you start with 1-1/2″ squares.  A full tutorial/pattern coming soon.  Just double-checking the math.

30 responses to “Fading Charms Top Finished

  1. Lovely! Very well done!

  2. i love it!!!!!!! i just may may make more than one of these..it is a good leader/ender and i have so many fabrics..i almost have my 100 patch done…can harldy wait for the tutorial..like you i hate the weaver’s cloth..i have tried using it before and like you say it frays so bad!!! thanks for showing us the finished product and the name suits it well!!!

  3. Wow, it turned out amazing! Love it!

  4. I love it. All those little squares do look rather daunting though.

  5. The top is just lovely!!! I know exactly what you mean though- the more I play around with the charms the more ideas I get too. I’ve started trying to sketch them out on graph paper so as to keep them straight in my head. }good luck to anything that floats around up there!} I too have had the ‘experience’ with weaver’s cloth,but jeez it is nice looking stuff! I for one am proud to say I helped contribute to such a scraptacular project. Anytime you need more just yodel!!

  6. Wow! It looks great. With all of those seams you really managed to keep it laying nice and flat.

  7. Fabulous! Lovely! It has a simple elegance that I find particularly appealing.

  8. Deanna – This quilt is fabulous!! I was in a postage stamp swap and I have 700 squares but they continue to sit on the shelf waiting for me to have the courage to start a project with them!! Starting seems a bit daunting!! Kris

  9. I love your projects with your variety of 2.5″ squares – never boring, Deanna!

  10. What a really cool idea and the name perfectly describes it!

  11. What a yummy quilt! I just love it! Love how the white border treatment breaks up those gorgeous bands of color. Bravo!

  12. It’s every bit as fabulous as I expected it to be! I can hardly wait, but my center is ready to go. I guess I’m going to have to find something for that white.

  13. I really like the quilt – will be looking forward to the tutorial.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wodrdpress.com

  14. Turned out wonderfully!

  15. Wow! Wow! WOW!! that is just beautiful. Now I’m going to have to cut up a lot more 2 1/2″ squares. I can’t wait for the tute. It doesn’t look boring at all. Thank-you so much.

  16. great design!! What a wonderful way to use up those scraps, love it!

  17. is this why you were asking about square quilts???? Love how this works! Very nicely done!

  18. I’d want to share too. It’s great. Can’t wait to see your other ideas.

  19. Oh wow! I am in love! This turned out great, Deanna! How cool to have all different fabrics! Someday — when I get brave enough to try something like this — I’ll have to remember this pattern! Love it! :)

    P.S. I know I keep giving you excuse after excuse, but my daughter had her baby (YAY!!!) so I’m not going to be home until Thursday. I’ll try to get your fabric in the mail sometime soon!!! :/

  20. Yes! I’ve been trying to guess what Fading Charms was going to look like. I was pretty close. Love the borders and the fading!

  21. So lovely! So many ways to use those fun little postage stamp charms! Thanks for sharing, Deanna. Send people over to join the April Charm Swap on the 1st….

  22. Pingback: Wandering Wednesday – Fading Charms | The Curious Quilter

  23. GORGEOUS! Love the white sashing in between, makes the charms pop. You have inspired me to finish my postage stamp quilt from last year…. Just the binding left to do… wonder why that takes ages?! :)

  24. I love it,and you are so right,the ideas just keep popping up in my brain.

  25. Love your quilt ! I too once used Weavers Cloth in one of the first quilts I made years ago … found out too late that it was NOT a good choice. Much too loosely woven for quilt making, it didn’t hold up well at all.

  26. truly inspiring! beautiful!

  27. Wow Deanna, this is absolutely GORGEOUS!!! I’ve bookmarked this page so I can come back to it when I have enough 2 1/2″ squares in my scrap bin … I am loving the design you’ve used to break up all the squares!!! … I found you via Heidi’s FNSI signup for April … thought I’d have a sneaky peek at what others have been up to, and boy am I glad I did!!! I do so love looking at what others have come up with with their scraps!!!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

