All Small Week Day 4: Pincushions

Oh Sew Tempting shared an interesting scrappy pincushion, so you know I was ready to go right away.

And, I had the perfect batch of little scraps…

Which quickly became this pincushion, an antique feel complete with vintage shell button.  I hope the person who receives it for Christmas will like it.

The whole project took only about an hour or so.  Another small project that makes a very satisfying finish.

The tutorial is no longer generally available on line, but  she has created a PDF pattern which is available in her Etsy shop.

**********

And, as one pincushion is not enough, and there was another style I was very interested in trying, I gave a cathedral window pincushion a go. 

Beautifully written tutorial with an abundance of pictures.  No complicated piecing.  However, it does require precision IRONING, at which I have very limited skill.

Part way through, it wasn’t looking very good.  Don’t you give up if you feel the same way.  I am glad I kept going,  because the final result is one I am pleased with. 

Thank goodness for buttons.  They are great for covering less than perfect ironing efforts.  I don’t think a whole cathedral window quilt is in my future, but I could give another one or two of these a try at some point in the future.  It is a good way to showcase small, treasured pieces of fabric.  Using a black background and bright solids would give an interesting stained glass or slightly Amish feel to the effort. 

Be aware that the stitching around the curved sections is going through many layers of fabric.  Slow sewing and a machine that can handle heavier-duty work is very helpful. 

So, that is it for Day 4.  Come back again tomorrow for another storage idea.  See you then.

ps–Here is the URL for the cathedral window cushion, if you want it:  http://gogokim.blogspot.com/2011/12/cathedral-window-pin-cushion-tutorial.html

9 responses to “All Small Week Day 4: Pincushions

  1. fun pincushions!!

  2. i love them..have to look up the tutorials as i have so many small scraps…and pincushions would be fun gifts for everybody i know..i like the cathedral window too but i have never had the patience for that pattern..but i might try it for something small like this..i am always thinking quilt size…thanks for the ideas…and can hardly wait for tomorrow’s….

  3. The cathedral window pincushion turned out GREAT. I have to try that.

  4. I tried a cathedral window way back when I first started quilting and it didn’t turn out too well. I’ll try this one to see if I have better luck.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  5. They both look good. Thanks for sharing the link on shoebox group, too. I can’t decide which one I like better!

  6. I love the scrappy pincushion that you made! That button looks wonderful with it, and the burgundy thread really pulls it all together. Someone is going to get a very nice Christmas present.

  7. I used that same tutorial for the cathedral window pin cushion and had a similar experience. I’m thrilled with how it turned out but was doubtful partway through the process. I also need to practice my ironing skills! I gave away the first one I made but hope to make myself one soon.

  8. Oh, wow, Deanna!! I LOVE these cathedral windows pincushions, especially the smaller one!! I am going to have to make me one of those!!! Thanks for the link!! Kris

  9. Pingback: All Small Week. Again? | Wedding Dress Blue

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

