TUTORIAL: Spangle Quilt

SPANGLE BABY QUILT

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

41″ x 41″

This scrappy baby quilt has a bold scale and plenty of eye appeal.  Use a charm pack or raid the scrap bin.  You will be happy with the results either way.

MATERIALS

64 2-1/2″ scrappy squares

16 5″ squares

OR

one charm pack

1-5/8 yard background material

1-1/4 yard for back

1/3 yard for binding

batting

CUTTING DIRECTIONS

If using a charm pack:  Sort out 16 squares with good contrast and cut them into 64 2-1/2″ charms.  Sort out an additional 16 squares that will be used to make Half Square Triangles (HST).  You will have 10 squares left over.  Hmm…maybe incorporate them into the back?  Or, go ahead and cut them into 2-1/2″ charms and add them to your stash.

If using scrap:  Sort out 64 2-1/2″ squares or cut from scrap.  Sort out or cut from scrap 16 5″ squares.

From your background fabric cut–

2 3-1/2″ x 41″

2 3-1/2″ x 35″

1 3-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ square

4 3-1/2″ x 16″

16 4-1/2″ squares

16 5″ squares

CONSTRUCTION

1. Using the 2-1/2″ squares, create 4 16-patch blocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2. Using the 16 5″ colored squares and the 16 5″ background squares, create 32 half square triangles.  There are many ways of doing this.  You can find my preferred method HERE.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3. Square up the HST blocks to 4-1/2″.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

4. Using one 16-patch, 8 HST and 4 4-1/2″ background squares, lay out a star block as shown below.  You might want to lay out all blocks so you have a chance to balance colors and move things around.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5.  Assemble star block by sewing together the two HST on each of the sides, then attaching them to the 16-patch block.  Next, sew together the corners and HST blocks on the top and bottom.  Attach them to the center.  Press.  A lot.

Repeat a total of four times.  Wow!  Look at what you have already accomplished.  Your top just needs assembly now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Lay out the four blocks using the 4 3-1/2″ x 16″ background pieces and the 3-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ background square in the very center.  Assemble. Press.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

7. Attach the two 3-1/2″ x 35″ background pieces to the sides.  Press. Attach the two 3-1/2″ x 41″ background pieces to the top and bottom.  Press.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

8. Sandwich, quilt, bind and label as desired.

NOTE: I was in such a rush to share this with you that I haven’t completed those steps yet, but will update once the job is complete.

9. Ta-dah!  You have completed a Spangle  Baby Quilt.  Yay you!

SPANGLE BABY GALLERY

…your beautiful creation HERE!

11 responses to “TUTORIAL: Spangle Quilt

  1. I love all your quilts! I so appreciate your tutorials. Thank you for taking the time and effort. I think I could add 2 more blocks to make this big enough for a comfort quilt. Love your colors and your explanations!

  2. This is lovely Deanna, have passed along the link to my mom as I looks like a quilt she would enjoy making. Thanks.

  3. Gorgeous, thanks for the tutorial. I will have to make one soon for Bambi project! I always equate spangles with sparkles and I can see those orange triangles really make this quilt sparkle! I guess I will have to keep bits of orange around for sparkle. But no pink! LOL

  4. LOVE THIS QUILT! I need a crib quilt for home when my grand babies come to visit. They have their own that I made, but I love this design, so many possibilities! Thanks so much for sharing this with us.

  5. May this be printed off for personal use, it is lovely.

  6. Thanks for sharing the directions. It’s really a cute quilt for a baby.

  7. I love it and it seems easy and fast…I have lots of 2.5’s cut and lots of 5″ charms cut so I can get going right away…thanks for the tutorial..yours are the easiest to follow of anybody’s…

  8. Thanks for sharing another great quilt. I’ve still got plenty of pink 2 1/2″ squares left. Maybe I’ll manage a bit of free time top whip one up before I clean my sewing table (if it’s ever clean).

  9. Thank you for sharing this great quilt pattern! Our club is swapping HST’s and I now have a pattern to use them up in.

  10. That’s a beautiful quilt. Thanks so much for putting together the tutorial.

  11. Lovely, and I am going to make it into a big quilt. Thank you so much for making these print-friendly. Most people do not do this, and it is so irritating to me. You are the best.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

