House Block Tutorial, as promised

Now, Victoria is a wonderful person and designed a charming block, but I couldn’t make mine work.  I used to build houses for a living, and I am a little embarrassed to say I couldn’t build that block.

So, I designed my own. It is the right size for her quilts, which is 10″ finished, but there is a 12″ option shown.  It goes together very quickly;  in fact, you make four blocks at a time.  At that rate you will complete a house quilt before you know it.

10” House Block

 This method makes 4 10” finished size blocks at once.

All seams at ¼” quilters width.  WOF = Width of Fabric, assuming 42-45” fabric.

Materials Needed:

1 11-1/4” square, suitable for roof

4 5-7/8” squares, suitable for sky

2 1-1/2” strips at least 22” long, suitable for sky

4 2-1/2” strips at least 22” long, 3 similar and suitable for house, 1 suitable for door

Construction:

Using your 11/1/4” square and 4 5-7/8” squares, assemble roof and sky of houses, using “No waste flying geese method.”  I discovered this method while doing the Hazel’s Diary Quiltalong.  Shelly has a great tutorial here.

Assemble the six strips with a narrow sky piece on the outside and the door in fourth position, as shown in picture.

 Iron.

Cut into units 5 ½” high.

Attach to roof.  Your block should be 10-1/2” square.

Ta-dah!  You have completed 4 little houses.

Why don’t you make more and send a quilt to BASICS? PS–You could win a sewing machine if you do.

A FEW NOTES:  IF your fabric is 44” usable width, you can get eight houses out of a single strip.  By using 2 roof squares and 8 sky squares you can make eight blocks REALLY fast. If not, it is pretty easy to get 6 houses from a WOF strip, so with three roof units and two sets of strips you get 12 houses.

If you want to make a 12” finished block, it is easy to modify by adding 1 2-1/2” strip and cutting the house body 6-1/2” high.  Make the roof block 13-1/4” square and the sky blocks 6-7/8” square.  All other directions as given.

Here is a block made by Lori, my volunteer pattern tester, who claims it “works great.” I like the scrappy-happy look of her block.

IF you have made it this far, congratulations.  Also, if you would like a print friendly version of the tutorial/pattern, just leave a comment or e-mail me and I’ll send it to you.

6 thoughts on “House Block Tutorial, as promised

  1. please send me a friendly print version. I am a missionary in Guatemala and this looks simple enough for the ladies I am trying to teach and would not use much material .

  2. how great!!! i just discovered this..i love this pattern and i have so many strips..i like the scrappy look ….and i have made ‘fast flying geese’ for years..took that class at a quilt shop near me..best lesson i ever had..woe is me..i will not live long enough to do all the things i have found on your blog Deanna!! thank you!!!

  3. Lovely house and seems to be the most simple one that I have seen sew far. Can you please send me your friendly print version. I, too, have seen some of your tuts on other sites. Thanks.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

