Bloggers Quilt Festival: Blowing in the Wind

Thanks to Amy for hosting the Bloggers Quilt Festival

Amy's Creative Side - Blogger's Quilt Festival

As a first-time entrant, I am excited to be part of something this big.

So, here is my quilt. 

I finished this quilt in 2009, I think.  Yes, as a fairly new quilter I am still learning about records and labels and such things.

Anyway, it started out as batik scraps leftover from the back of a previous quilt.  I liked the scraps so much I sort of kept them together and looked at them for about 2 years.  Finally this idea came to mind.

It is a basic four patch with sashing.  The leaves were machine appliqued to the quilt by my friend Tawni.  To accomplish this the quilt had to be mailed to Alaska and back.  Finally it was machine quilted by Tara.  With so many other people involved, can it really be called my quilt?  Maybe this is a sort of modern quilting bee? 

I don’t know, but it is one of only two quilts I have made and kept (in spite of my husband’s candid opinion that it is the ugliest quilt  have ever made). I keep thinking it might really belong to someone else, but haven’t found the perfect home for it yet.  Something this bright will take a very special owner.

Thanks for visiting and reading my story.  I hope you’ll consider coming by again.

9 thoughts on “Bloggers Quilt Festival: Blowing in the Wind

  1. it does look like the leaves fell on the bed and are blowing around..i love it..i love the dramatic colors..normally i don;t like batiks but i like that..what a neat idea..

    i have a terrible time when i finish a quilt to seperate the fabrics and put them back in the scrap boxes..i want to keep them together..LOL..

    thanks for showing us that …and for entering it in the quilt festival..if there is a contest i hope you win…

  2. I have a quilt that I considered fairly ugly. My kids fight over it LOL. My oldest daughter actually STOLE it when she moved out. So much for ugly 😉

    I think your quilt is lovely.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

