4 thoughts on “Guest Post: Why Bother to Sew a Handmade Quilt?

  1. I enjoyed your posting on Stash Manicure. I know that sewing is therapy. I am privileged to volunteer at a local drug and alcohol treatment center. I, along with 4 other volunteers teach the women to sew. We make quilts, pillowcases, tote bags and strip pieced purses. The women look forward to this once a week class and often ask if we can’t come more often. It is very rewarding both for the women who leave with a finished project and for the volunteers who see the light bulb go on when the women grasp the concept.

  2. Hi Deanna

    I loved your post on Stash Manicure about the reasons we quilt. Well said. I always reply to this comment by asking why woodworkers cut up perfectly good pieces of timber and glue and nail them back together.

    I was wondering if you would allow me publish your post in our club newsletter for our February meeting. I would, of course, acknowledge the source. I live in Wanganui, New Zealand and our club is called Cotton On Quilters. I won’t use it unless your say yes.

    Thanks, in anticipation

    Helen Pedersen

  3. what a wonderful article you posted on Stash Manicure Deanna….every word is exactly why i make quilts..only i could never have put it into words like you…i am going to print it and frame it for every one to see why i quilt..thank you…

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

