Sweater. Re-sweater.

Another try at refashioning.

Starting point:  99-cent orange sweater.

Cut up the front ( I like to measure the middle in several places, pin and then cut.  I know I am going to be even that way.)

Then I added wide bias tape to both sides.

Sleeves next–measure the length against a shirt I liked, leaving room for a ruffle.

Then cut the sweater.

Add a ruffle.  I used a piece WOF (Width Of Fabric) and three inches wide.  Cut it half it made the ruffle for both sleeves. I surged the edges, gathered and attached by sewing rights sides together on the outside and then turning it down.

And adding rickrack.

Now that the sleeves were done, I could go back to the front.  I made some more wide single-fold bias tape style stuff and attached it to the front, leaving about 1/4″ of the brown bias tape showing.

That wasn’t quite enough, so it got some lace, too.

Ta-dah!  A re-sweater.

Finished (at least so far) product!  It feels like it needs a closure of some kind, but I have tried a hook and eye, button and belt and none made me happy.  Maybe it will just be left like this. 

A few of the ruffles were bent the wrong way as I had just removed my coat coming home from church.  Husband is sometimes an impatient photographer, especially when food is waiting. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Sweater. Re-sweater.

  1. what a neat idea…you are so clever with redoing clothes…have you tried a frog for a closure??? i always think they look nice..maybe at the waist??? on my wish list??? a serger.. p.s. i love the paisley trim..

  2. Hello Deanna,
    I’m so glad you stopped by my blog…cause now I’ve found yours.
    I LOVE what you’ve done with the sweater… you are very clever and your post is most inspiring.
    I know what you mean about the closure, but perhaps it’s because we’re used to things ‘doing up’. I really like it like it tis 🙂
    Robyn xx

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

