Nova

A finished top:  Nova, from Scrap Basket Sensations.

The original pattern called for 12 stars, but I wanted a bed sized quilt and went for 20.  The finished top is approximately 77″ x 93″.

This color scheme is a little different for me, but I LOVE…LOVE…LOVE this quilt.

It sounds terrible, but I just can’t stop looking at it.

My thanks to Kim for this wonderful design that used scrap and pushed me in a new color direction, inspired by the name.  Somehow red, yellow, orange and pink said STAR to me. Star…Nova…it made sense at the time.

19 thoughts on “Nova

    1. Blocks first, border later. The border was a really lucky find at my local quilt shop. I am really happy to have it. Again, it is a little different, but it really works with the quilt.

  1. Deanna – what a truly beautiful quilt – no wonderf you cant stop looking at it. I don’t think it took you that long. Wish I could compete things as fast. The colours and the blocks go so wonderfully together. Great work!

  2. Wow! This really came together quickly and beautifully. I spent some time staring at it as the white diamond / squares popped forward and backwards. I love the border fabric. I don’t know if it is the borders or just the general shifting energy of the whole quilt but it reminds me of fireworks.

  3. Yes, it is very beautiful and I don’t blame you for staring at it! I am doing the same thing with that Picnic in the Park quilt I made. For some reason I love it, even though there’s nothing really special about it. I think we fall in love with our quilts because we created them or something like that.

  4. I can’t stop looking at it, either! I love the colors! And the border fabric is so perfect for it. I need to take you fabric shopping with me. 🙂

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

