REVIEW: Scrap Basket Sensations

I have been talking about Scrap Basket Sensations on and off for quite a while now.  Since I have completed my first quilt from the book, I guess it is time for an official review.

Scrap Basket Sensations is the second published book (that I know of) by Kim Brackett of Magnolia Bay Quilts.  Legal mind by day, quilting wizard by night, Kim has produced another wonderful collection of patterns all focused on a single idea:  2-1/2″ strips.

The book contains 18 patterns, which look surprisingly different from one another considering how closely they are related.

Kim Brackett has designed over 36 quilts using 2-1/2″ strips.  Doesn’t that get boring?  No way!  I have her first book, Scrap Basket Surprises, too.  This book isn’t a boring re-hash of old ideas.  It is full of new ideas and great designs, still based on the same, simple concept.  Simple, yes. Boring?  Definitely not.

In fact,  have chosen my next project:  Blessings From The Hollow. To the best of my recollection, this will be the first time EVER that I have made more than one quilt in a book.  And I doubt I will stop at two.  After all, there is a lot of scrap fabric in my life waiting to be used, and there are more quilts waiting:  Lake Cabin, Summer Daze, Flower Boxes…

Kim gives directions using yardage, precuts or straight scrap.  I used scraps last time, but think this might be a good time to use those two batik rolls you see up there.

If I had a complaint about the book, it would be that most of the quilts are lap sized.   Kim’s directions make re-sizing easy, however,  and the quilts convert larger or smaller, depending on your preference.  I like big quilts, so I added some to Nova and was very happy with the results. 

At the end of her introduction to Scrap Basket Sensations, Kim invites you to “dig into your scrap basket, throw in some precut strips and stash fabrics, and sew along with me!”  I invite you to do the same.  You will be glad you did.

7 thoughts on “REVIEW: Scrap Basket Sensations

  1. i am going to have to get it..i have 2 of the 2 1/2″ rolls and would like to use them up…i will have to get an order in too…thanks for giving it such good reviews..

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

