Batik Beauty–FINISHED!

The Batik BOM for my Local Quilt Shop (LQS) is finished.

It will be delivered today (Monday) to the shop for display and sign-ups for the BOM Program starting in November.

The quilter did a great job, I think.  The shop owner is concerned, though, that the lime green is a little too much.  What do you think?  Should we swap for a different fabric in the BOM kits?

This is my first batik quilt and the first one using fusible applique.

Batiks, I love. Particularly the saturated colors. (Notice that I made sure there was some cobalt blue (AKA wedding dress blue) in the quilt.)

Fusible applique?  Well, the jury is still out on that one.

But the quilt is finished and I hope it is a good program for the shop.

22 thoughts on “Batik Beauty–FINISHED!

  1. it is gorgeous!!! but i do think the lime green is a little much…do you have a more toned down green??? i always think of batiks as being subtle colors..but it is beautiful..why not have two kits and give the customer a choice???? never used fusible applique either..you did a great job on that..looks so complicated..hope they sell lots of kits..a job well done!!!!

  2. Personally, I love the lime green. It puts a modern spin into traditional blocks, so it would add its appeal for both groups of quilters:)

  3. I like the lime green too. I know some won’t, so I’d build the kit, and make sure the measurements are there so the quilter can swap in a different green if they want.

  4. Beautiful! I love the lime green, but I love bright colors. Personally, I wouldn’t change a thing, but you might need to give folks options to sell kits.

  5. Oh WOW! This is gorgeous. I love batiks, too — so much fabric fun! I think the lime is perfect. You do not need to change a single thing. I think I might like to sign up for this particular BOM! Congrats on a happy finish! 🙂

  6. I think the lime works well with the other colors. And if people don’t like it, they can swap it for something from their stash when it’s time to use it. But I think it adds a little extra fun to the finished look 🙂

  7. it looks great! I am so impressed with the variety. Colour mixing is so suibjective isn’t it? I like a bit of ‘pop’ so the lime sits well for me!

  8. Batik Beauty indeed! The quilt is most aptly named. Lovely work. The lime green is a bit TOO much for my personal taste. It looks great in the quilt, but I know if given a choice at my local quilt shop, I would opt for fabric choice # 2 in my BOM packages.

  9. I have never seen this before, I don’t think that I knew about your site in 2011. What a stunning lovely quilt. I wish you could put it where more people could see it. This was truly a pleasant surprise!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

