New Year Quilt Thoughts

People ask me “Are you still quilting?”  A lot of people ask that question, actually.  Some say it “Are  you STILL quilting?” and some “Are you still QUILTING?” and some “Are YOU still quilting?” but it all amounts to the same thing.

Of course I am still quilting.  I have fabric and I haven’t made all the quilts in my head and there are still cold people in this world.  Why would I quit?

That said, and as it is that resolution/goal setting time of the year, I thought I would share a few of my quilting goals for the year 2012:

1. Finish that Jewel Box quilt if it is the only thing I get done.  Well, already it won’t be the only thing I get done, because I have another finish already.  But, it will get done. Really.

2. Handquilt a large quilt.  I know which quilt it will be.  I just need to get it on the frames and get to work.  In late February or early March.

3. Share a tutorial a month.  If I make this a priority I am hoping it will push my creativity.  But, I might be lazy for January and let the balaclava count since I did two in December.

4. Love my fabric and not feel guilty for it.  I don’t have a small stash, but I don’t have a large stash either.  I guess it is just right for me.  And I really do love it.  What a feeling of satisfaction it is to just browse through and imagine beautiful things and then see them come to pass.  Bliss!

Here is a recap of my 2011 sewing goals and how it went:

In 2011 I plann(ed) to:

1. Quilt. A lot.  The fact is that I like quilting and I am going to do quite a bit of it. General sewing, too. YAY!  This went well, plus I learned a lot about refashioning. Very satisfying.  

2. Buy fabric. As much as I want and can afford.  Fabric makes me happy.  Fabric transformed into quilts, bags, skirts and other objects makes other people happy.  The world needs more happy people.  Therefore, I need more fabric. The big controlling factor here was “As much as I…can afford.”  Frankly, that wasn’t a lot this year.  But scraps made up for a lot of it and pushed me in new directions.  And I really WAS happy almost all the time.

3. Use scraps often.  Using scraps makes me happy.  If it doesn’t make you happy, give your scraps away and re-read #2. Yep, when you re-read #2 you will see that my scraps and a lot of scraps from other people kept me happy.  Thank you all for your kindness in sharing.

4. Keep blogging.  When I started this blog earlier this year (2011) it was an experiment.  I am enjoying myself and plan to continue.  I hope you will continue reading.  That would make me happy.  But, whether I have one follower, or one hundred followers, or one thousand followers, I think I will do it anyway. Well, I’m still here, so I guess this one came to pass also.  And it is still fun, so here’s to 2012.

5. Write tutorials.  Hopefully, at least one a month.  This is a good goal, I think, because it pushes me to pay attention to my own ideas.  I think most of us have good ideas.  We just need to learn to listen to them. At first thought this was a neglected goal, but after counting up I have 10 tutorials posted in 2011.  That surprised me.  In a good way.  Hmmm…maybe I will really get 12 this year.

So, back to the original question:  Are you still quilting?  Yes, I am.  And hope to continue for some time. Thank you for being part of that experience.

And, a thought for the road that I picked up from somewhere:

YOU HAVE ENOUGH QUILTS WHEN YOUR SOUL IS FILLED, YOUR CREATIVITY SATISFIED AND YOUR FINGERS JUST WON’T WORK ANYMORE.

6 thoughts on “New Year Quilt Thoughts

  1. you have the best blog i have read…it is down to earth for us down to earth people–those of us who like you have another life but love to play with fabric and make beautiful things for others..i think you did well in 2011 on your sewing goals..and i do enjoy your tutorials..keep them coming …thanks for all the great ideas i have gotten from this great blog..not that i will ever live long enough to do all of them but i have them if i do have the time..now–go get at that jewel box!!!!!!!!!

  2. Non-quilters just don’t understand. I get asked this also. I used to respond by saying “is the Pope Catholic?”, I now just nod and smile. I will need to live another 60 yrs to make the quilts I want to make plus the ones in my head. I nearly have my sewing room finished and next week I will have a clean, tidy room to create more quilts. I need to make one of those lists. I found a few too many UFOs.

  3. I’m so glad you’re STILL quilting. LOL Of course you are. It isn’t like a disease that goes away. =) Think of your stash as a palette of color.

  4. I get the same questions. 🙂 I also get why are you still quilting; why do you quilt; etc. When someone does not have a passion about something they simply don’t understand. Their loss. LOL

    I enjoy watching your progress on whatever you decide you want to quilt.

  5. I hope you reach all of your goals, but in particular for my sake, the tutorial each month. Last night, I got the supplies and fabric to make the balaclava and I can’t wait to get started on it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

