Civil War Status

Barbara Brackman has hosted a block a week quiltalong for all of 2011 to commerate the 150th anniversary of the Civil War.  Great history lessons.  Nice blocks.  A good variety. The original plan was 56 blocks.  Somewhere along the way I got behind and then tried to catch up and got to 45 and ran out of steam, I guess.

So, I laid out my favorite 42 blocks in a 6×7 on point arrangement.  And have decided to create alternating blocks of four patches from my scraps and sashing.

You can see one of the alternating blocks in the picture.  I am not so sure about it.  Very dark green sashing.  It seemed like a good idea at the time.

But there was also the idea of making two sashings, one light and the outer one dark green.

Here they are side by side.  What do you think? Which do you prefer?

So, I am letting the idea sit (on my “design floor”) while I sew the four patches together because I am more confident about them.

10 thoughts on “Civil War Status

  1. it will be a beautiful rich looking quilt..i like the inner white border the best myself..you are really finishing up a lot of things..i can see how you could get behind on a block a week ….but what you have is going to be very pretty..i like the idea of the four patch for the alternating blocks..

  2. I like the 2 border option better. I participated in all 53 weeks of the Civil War BOW – it was SO MUCH FUN. Just found out that Barbara is using pictures of three of my blocks in her book that will be published about the Civil War BOW in 2013. I’m thrilled!

  3. I know this is not one of your options……..but I love the blue shade of your carpet behind the blocks. I think I would frame the four patch blocks in that colour blue. Whatever you choose, it will be gorgeous. All your blocks are lovely.

  4. That is an incredibly beautiful quilt! I hope someday to have the confidence in my abilities to give a civil war quilt a try.I know this is going off your choices but how do you feel about a charcoal banding? I really don’t think you can go wrong with whatever you decide. Fourty two blocks is an amazing accomplishment,we are all looking forward to seeing the finished product!

  5. I love these blocks — I played around with a couple, but I didn’t find her blog until very late in the game. Personally, I prefer the wider dark green border…the double border looks looks a little busy to me and I think the wider dark border will do much to set off all the beautiful CW blocks! 🙂

  6. I like both of them. To be able to pick a favorite, I’d have to see maybe four of each in different corners of the quilt. I saw a couple of people prefer the carpet color, but I don’t think it’s quite right. I had a thought looking at the two of them together in that last block picture. What if you alternated between the two borderings? I think that could look fabulous! Not helpful in narrowing options, so I’ll go now. LOL

  7. i think the very dark green is going to do two things: it is going to make whatever is framed in the dark green seem to float and it is going to also frame the alternating blocks. at first i was not real crazy about it, but it grows on a person! and i like it better than the split sashing. but, you know what? it’s your quilt and you should do whatever YOU like! have fun with it. the blocks that you pictured looked very nice.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

