Young Son

Young Son turned 14 on Sunday (yesterday).  Hard to believe.  He was one of those really good babies that was easy-going and just glad to be here.  And he really hasn’t changed.  He is still easy-going, good-natured and kind-hearted.  Not perfect, of course, but pretty good.

I talk a lot about Daughter and her quilting adventures.  But, Young Son quilted.  Once.  It was in 2007 and he was 9.

He made this flannel/denim/fleece throw.  He was pleased with the product, as you can see, but didn’t enjoy the process much.  It took a lot of motherly persuasion to get it finished.

He still uses it, but it doesn’t cover nearly so much of him.

Now he makes things like moccasins.  It takes big moccasins to cover size 14 feet.

Now my “little boy”  is 6’3″  (165 cm) tall and weighs 180 lbs.  I am 5’5″ tall. Yep, he is big on the outside, but on the inside he is still my good little boy.

13 thoughts on “Young Son

  1. happy birthday to young son!!! not so little but you have done a good job of raising him…i love his quilt..he did a good job picking colors and fabrics..you can celebrate his birthday too…it was a big moment for you…

  2. Happy birthday to him! I love that he makes his own moccasins — and gracious — he’s a tall one, isn’t he? And lanky, too! But he’s definitely got that sweet, “good little boy” smile! 🙂

  3. Happy Birthday to You Teenage Son!!! [My condolences mommy…] Now that’s a good size boy!! Nobody will ever accuse you of skimping on his vittles!! I remember when my baby turned 14-now he is 23 and I do not know where it went to…. Sometimes I do so wish I could have a do-over just for the joy of it!! Mine won’t quilt but he will cut fabric,this kind of help is always appreciated.Thank heaven for “little” boys!!

  4. Happy Birthday, “Young Son”!!! And don’t forget that birthdays are special for the Mom, too! 🙂 I have two sons that tower over my 5’5″ frame also, but still have a soft spot in their heart for their Mom and the simple things in life! There is a saying that goes something like this . . . A Mother holds her children’s hands for a while, but their hearts forever. Kids are the BEST!!! 🙂

  5. Happy birthday! A day late, but still heartfelt. I remember when Regan first grew taller than I am, he loved to come up behind me and pick me up. LOL I’m only 5’3″ and he finished at over 6 ft, but I never remember how much over. =) And the shoes, yeah, not cheap to buy those sneakers!

  6. I love that he quilted (at least once) and makes his own moccasins. Don’t think that he’s ever growing away from you. I just had a phone call from my 55-year-old son asking my advice on some small matter. Happy Birthday, Young Son.
    Lillian @ lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  7. Wonderful post. It reminded me so much of my mother-in-law who when talking about my husband her only son until the day she died at 83, always, always seem to be seeing a five year old tow-headed boy even though he was almost 60.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

