Tutorials And Patterns: The Concensus

So many of you were kind enough to share your thoughts on tutorials and patterns. It may have been a little silly to ask the question. I don’t really know why I have used the term “Tutorial” for most of my little creations, but as I was typing it this weekend I found myself wondering if I was using the right word.

So, after reading all of your thoughts, here is what I came away with:

1. Tutorials are Free. Patterns often are not. All free here.
2. Tutorials have a visual emphasis. Patterns have a text/directions emphasis.  A picture is worth a thousand words…not just an old saying. There are pictures, but my photography skills need improvement.
3. Tutorials “show.” Patterns “tell.”This can be tricky.  People learn differently.  But the combination of pictures and words seems to be the key.

4. Tutorials = Details!  Hmmm… I am still working on it. There is a balance somewhere… As Katie pointed out, the line is a little blurry…

But, I guess I have been using the right word after all. I will keep on sharing TUTORIALS and hoping that you keep enjoying them. Thanks!

8 thoughts on “Tutorials And Patterns: The Concensus

  1. I would disagree on the tutorials = free while patterns often =/= not free. One could argue that just about every pattern is a tutorial for making a certain object. The biggest difference I find is that patterns often use more jargon relating to the thing they’re teaching you about. They assume you already have basic knowledge of what you’re doing. I find that tutorials often go the extra step and take you back to basics, not just showing pictures of “enlarge this by 50% and then cut the shape from your fabric” bits but also showing HOW a thing was made in the first place, so that even beginners to the art or craft can understand.

    I also find that tutorials offer instruction on a process rather than a specific thing. A knitting tutorial, for example, will show you how to make different kinds of stitches, how to figure out the right thickness of yarn for the needles, that sort of thing. Where a knitting pattern assumes you already know that and are ready to get right down to making something.

    There’s some overlap, absolutely, and I agree that what you do are tutorials more than patterns. I wish I hadn’t used so many words to come to that conclusion! 🙂

  2. i agree with you Deanna…tutorials provide the DETAILS which is what i need when doing something online..i learn much better one on one in person but since it can;t be then a tutorial full of DETAILS are what i need…thank you for all your tutorials..i really enjoy doing them…now back to the fading charms quilt!!!! that is my fun for today…

  3. No matter what u call them your “directions” are great. I just found your blog…thanks..i am enjoying it…

  4. I am new to your blog. It is great. Your tutorials are also better than typical patterns–more thorough and better illustrations, and I think you are using the correct term. And I love that they are free. Am planning to start cutting the fading charms as soon as I finish one UFO (of many!)

  5. I guess as long as it’s clear, and very easy to understand (that’s where the pictures come in for me!) then it doesn’t really matter what you call them. Since I’m still learning so much about quilting, I just appreciate people like you who are willing to take the time to show me how to improve doing something that I’ve grown to love so much! Thanks, Deanna!!! 🙂

  6. I am so glad that you will continue to share ‘tutorials’ with us. I know I certainly enjoy them. I have a big pile of 2 1/2″ squares cut for the fading charms tutorial. Still need to cut more though. Thank-you so much for your generous, sharing nature.

  7. You do a really nice job with the tutorials and they’re so helpful to both beginners and experienced quilters. I’m on the last “fading charms” row now. Hope I can finish it next week.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

