Pondering Ironing Board Height

The other day a young neighbor was playing at my house helping me iron, which required a major height adjustment of the ironing board. (She really did do a good job on the napkins.  And she was enthusiastic.)

After she left, I lifted the board back up, but, accidently, not to its previous, full extended height.

How surprised I was to discover that ironing became more comfortable!

You might want to check your ironing board.  The perfect board height seems to be slightly below or even with the top of the hip bone.   I am 5’5″ tall, with short-ish legs.  It turns out that a couple of inches below full height is great for me. 

How high is your board?  How did you choose that height?  If you decide to try a different height, did it make a difference?

9 thoughts on “Pondering Ironing Board Height

  1. i am 5’4″ and i prefer mine at full height when i stand to iron..to press if i have a lot of pressing to do i put it down to the height i need if sitting..but when i put it up next time i will try it a little lower than full height..wonder if that is why i get achy shoulders sometimes when i iron??? thanks for telling us about this..something i had not thought of..

  2. I was reading a book on studio/workspace design, and it stated ironing levels should be about 8″ below your elbow when your arm is bent at a right angle (I think that is the number- I don’t have the book with me) – they had similar measurements for cutting tables (diferent for rotary vs. scissor cutting). I tend to work higher – but I think that is a factor of eyes, not arms.

  3. Haha … my ironing board is generally the same heigh as my sewing table. It saves wear-and-tear on my foot to be able to just swivel around to the ironing board without having to walk on the foot! 🙂

  4. My husband made me an ironing/storage table a few years ago. I’m 5′ 9″ and researched the proper table height for ironing then we measured me to figure out the proper height for me. I love my ironing table!! It does make it a bit difficult when my son wants to iron my scraps, but we manage. I do still have a regular ironing board I could use when others need to iron but I don’t want them to get too comfortable in MY room.

  5. When I had my old wooden one that’s now in storage, full height was just perfect for me. I have a yucky modern one now, and I keep it a little shorter. I have a heavy iron so I don’t have to work so hard at it, and the lower height helps, too. Several people sew with me, so it does go up and down sometimes.

  6. My ironing board is a small one which sits on a window seat, so it is at a fairly low height – probably even a bit below my hip bone. It is very comfortable to use.

  7. Well I’ve never thought of the height of my ironing board. Now this doesn’t want me to rush right in and get the ironing board out and measure it’s height. But I will when next I get it out. I am 5’7″ tall with long legs and I always have my board at full height. I have a small one in my sewing room that sits on a stool beside my machine that I press on when sewing. And I know that is too low but sometimes I get too lazy to walk out to the other ironing board. I do’t have much ironing of my own and my husband does his own (teach him for telling me after 37yrs of marriage that I don’t put creases in his shirts in the right place)so the ironing board is only up for 10mins for me and a lot longer for him. He really makes a meal of his ironing but after 3yrs of him doing it I’m not falling for his over dramatised effort of doing it.

  8. I like it about 6″ below my elbow when my arm is at a right angle. The board hits me slightly below my hip bone. I like the amount of pressure I can apply to the iron when I’m more on top of it.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

