All Small Week Day 3: Fabric Nesting Baskets

Here is a project that will allow you to use some of that polyester blend fabric you haven’t quite persuaded yourself to get rid of. Of course, top quality fabric is always an option, but this project practically begs for cheap. Curious?

Check out crocheted Fabric Nesting Baskets

I am a left-handed mostly self-taught crocheter.  If I can do this, you can do this.

The most time-consuming part was prepping the fabric into yarn.  She called for the use of scissors to cut the fabric into 1″ strips.  Uh…NO.  I used my rotary cutter. That is the quilter in me.

The directions are easy to read and well written, as far as I can tell.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get my gauge just right.  Perhaps my hook isn’t really a size M, or perhaps I am too tight in my work, but once I had the basic idea I just worked the baskets until they were about the correct size.

I finished them by singeing off a lot of the loose strings and then spraying the basket to damp with my ironing bottle.  Then I shaped them carefully and left them to dry.

It was so much fun I am making another set already.

Her method of cutting continuous fabric yarn is great if you are using a sheet, but I wanted to use that poly-cotton blend fabric I mentioned above for the next basket, so I used a joining method very similar to the ones in this tutorial: JOINING FABRIC YARN.  I didn’t turn down quite as much at the end, but the final result is very similar.

So what do you think?  Are there some small baskets in your future?

Check back tomorrow for Day 4.

PS–URL, in case you want it: http://www.petalstopicots.com/2012/03/green-crocheting-fabric-nesting-baskets.html

9 thoughts on “All Small Week Day 3: Fabric Nesting Baskets

  1. These are cool … you made it look (or at least sound) so easy! I may have to give these a try! 🙂

  2. I have a bunch of poly sitting around, not for long. I am going to give this a try. I have made some with the thick crochet cotton and daughter loves them. Thanks.

  3. I love your baskets! It’s been forever since I bought anything with poly in it, but I’m sure I could find some nice cheap fabric at Hobby Lobby! I took a class with my sister a million years ago, but it didn’t turn out to be nearly this easy – it needed cording and wrapping and knots. Thanks for the pointers!

  4. i have a lot of pieces of solids that have poly in them that this would be perfect for..so i shall give this a try as soon as i get my strips cut..and yes i will also use my rotary cutter!!! thanks for this..nice for gifts with a little bottle of lotion or something like that in it..

  5. I’ve never been able to get the hang of crochet. I could probably manage something similar with knitted i-cord that I then sew into a bowl, but crocheting somehow always remains beyond me.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

