All Small Week Day 5: Storage Bin

Those poor pants which suffered so badly in the “unfortunate ballet move.” What could be done with them? They were really nice pants.

This is a tutorial I had been wanting to try for a while, and it was ready-made for the purpose: Denim Do-it-all Bins.

At first I didn’t realize that you get ONE bin out of TWO pants legs. The nice thing is, even if you start with fairly small pants, you still get a nice size bin. In fact, if you make the large, it is quite a large bin.  In the picture it is shown holding magazines, but somehow that didn’t quite translate in my head.  It really is a LARGE in, 8-1/2 inches across and just about 10 inches tall.

Particularly if you make the size large bin, include the interfacing.  It is worth the effort.

As this makeover item it heading right back to daughter, I used the leftover backing fabric from her show quilt for the liner. After all, one of the joys of recycling is the memories involved–THOSE pants and THAT quilt.

Thank you for joining me for All Small Week.  I am so glad I finally got around to making some of these projects that had appealed to me and been put on the “someday” list.  If you have some projects like this  filed away, get them out and give it a go.  Very rewarding!

Also, do you have a favorite you would recommend?  Let me know, I might like it, too.  And, if you are looking for a small project, there are a few in the TUTORIALS tab at the top of this page.

PS–The URL for the tutorial, if you would like:

7 thoughts on “All Small Week Day 5: Storage Bin

  1. i do have a pair in fact 2 pair of jeans that i hate to throw away but what to do with them???? they are unmendable..but what a clever idea…i will give this a try one of these days…thanks for letting us know about it..and i love the bin you made for daughter because it will have all kinds of memories for her…

  2. I have two pairs of jeans in the go-to-thrift spot, and I could easily go to recycle instead! What a great storage for all those threads that are thrown all over my couch while I’m CQing something!

  3. Maybe an older post, but how actual for me now! 2 days ago I had to cut off two pairs of jeans, because my girls needed knie length jeans for a school play. Now I know what to do with the rest. Thanks!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

