More Fabric In The Shape Of

My friend Kathi offered me this tunic top.  I had admired the fabric once, and still liked it a lot. 

But, it didn’t really fit Daughter.

Time to do some scissors alterations. I cut the top right at the seam where the bodice met the bottom section.  There was a button there, but I sewed it shut and cut the button off.

In my “big pile of junk” was some gauzy fabric with lace inserts that would make a better lining.  I don’t know what it was intended to be originally–maybe curtain panels?

In less than two hours work, that unusable tunic became this (if I do say so myself) DARLING skirt for Daughter.  She is always worried when I go to work on a remodeling project.  I need to be better at explaining “the vision” of where an outfit is heading.

But she is happy with the results and makes my work look good.  Yay for a new summer outfit!

10 thoughts on “More Fabric In The Shape Of

  1. cute as it can be!!!!! i would not be able to see that in that tunic…you are so clever with redos…..and it is also nice that you have such a pretty model..

  2. Wow, you are so creative! I love the skirt and it looks great on Ms Jane. Loved the pink pearl necklace with it, too. Now what are you doing with the fabric in the top part? =)

  3. She should know by now that you’re going to turn out something gorgeous.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  4. I agree with Lillian. And I love the way the lining that you chose echoes the original tunic top, with its lacy insets.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

