String Twist Flimsy

Here it is, that major-project-turned-throw that I rediscovered last week and decided to get serious about.

The idea came from a blog somewhere, but I haven’t found a full tutorial on it and plan to create and share one soon.

But, in the meantime, it is a finished top. 

The back I had picked out for it is two inches short.  Both directions.  Arrgh!  So I am trying to decide if I should piece the back or pick a new back.  I don’t have an overabundance of backing fabric, meaning larger yardage, just lying around begging for a job.  Well, there are a few, but not another one that I think will work here.

But, that is OK, I guess.  It has set this long it can sit a little longer while I think it over.

11 thoughts on “String Twist Flimsy

  1. This is really pretty. I love the motion look. And I think the blue and white solid really brings out the squares. I would love the tutorial when you get to it. Thanks for sharing.

  2. I love it with the white and then the blue – great setting. What if you cut that backing on the diagonal in both directions, and then added scrappy piecing down the cuts to make it big enough? Then you’d have those scrappy triangles on the front and different scrappy triangles on the back. Maybe?

  3. i love it and can hardly wait for the tutorial..i have a box full of ‘strings’ here just waiting for a home…as for the back that happens to me often and i use the same outer border on the back that i use on the front..in this case the blue..but i also like desertsuz’s idea too!!!! you’ll figure it out and it will be perfect..

  4. Love all the outdoor places you display your quilts for pictures- trees, fences. I often wonder what our neighbors must think.
    Recently, I started a story with “I was on the porch taking pictures of a quilt…” My friends don’t even question anymore. Thank goodness they “get” me.

  5. Do you have any extra blocks you can use to stretch the back? I am always buying too little fabric. It is even a little joke in my family that when Steve goes with me to the fabric store he encourages me to get extra. Beautiful top.

  6. Beautiful! I love it. The setting colours set it off beautifully. I often add leftover blocks or pieces to my backs to make larger or to just use up.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

