Because we all sometimes have our doubts. Whether you are in design or just picking fabric for a purchased pattern, it can get to you. Several months ago I had an idea, built the quilt and then ALMOST didn’t even publish the pattern. Silly! Fading Charms turned out to be one of my most popular designs. That naughty Aunt Zelda nearly won that round. (Read above to learn about Aunt Zelda.)

The only tip I would add is:  Don’t compare yourself to others.  Find out who you are.  Trust your instincts.  Develop a voice.  Be yourself!

This is much easier said than done, but I know its true.

Studio Mothers: Life & Art

Sometimes creative angst gets the better of us. How often do you find yourself thinking “I don’t have enough time,” or “My work’s not good enough,” or “I’ll never reach my creative goals”? Here are four simple ways to avoid those minefields and stay focused on what really matters: your creative work.

1. Turn rejection into affirmation. With practice, you can reframe rejection so that it actually affirms your creativity, rather than causes injury. Here’s how. Simply put, you can’t get rejected if you haven’t had the courage to send your work out into the world. And you can’t send your work out into the world if you haven’t reached a level of completion and polish that makes you believe your work has legs. And your work can’t have legs if you haven’t put yourself at your desk or easel or studio bench and actually done the work, for however…

View original post 829 more words

5 thoughts on “

  1. Excellent! I am one “not good enough”. I see that now and will try not to “compare myself to others” but it’s difficult when I see what appears on some blogs.

  2. i do the best i can do and that is as good as i can do so i don;t worry about being as good as others..not trying to be..just trying to be me…i don;t envy other’s work–i just try to make it and do what i can and it turns out good enough for me and my family..i remember your doubts about fading charms and it is one of my favorite quilts i have ever done and i fully intend to make another one..just be yourself…don’t worry about what others do..just do what you can do..

  3. For the most part, I always think I’m pretty good enough. There is one area of my life where I am struggling to feel that way, but mostly, I think I’m okay. I didn’t achieve it easily, though! It took a lot of time and effort.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

