The Half-Way Through 2012 Checkup

Well, by checking the sidebar you can see that I started 2012 with 14 Unfinished Projects.  Eight remain unfinished.  But, on the upside, three add-on projects are finished.  So, I have finished 9 major quilts so far this year.  Not too bad.  Particularly since one of them was that Jewel Box quilt, neglected for way too long.

NOTE:  For the purpose of this list, it is “finished” when it is a top, and “FINISHED” when it is quilted and bound.  But, finished is almost as good as FINISHED, right?

And there were two other tops that I had quilted and are now complete that weren’t on the original list, because adding all those flimsys would be embarrassing, but maybe I could make a separate list for that.

But I really would like to get serious about at least one more of the original list in July.  Hmmm…maybe the Four-patch Leader/Ender.  I am pretty sure I have all the blocks I need for it. Or really close.

*******

I also wrote goals for 2012.  Let’s take a look at those next:

1. Finish that Jewel Box quilt if it is the only thing I get done.  Well, already it won’t be the only thing I get done, because I have another finish already.  But, it will get done. Really.

Well, the top is done.  The next goal would be to get it quilted.  Hopefully before the end of the year.  

2. Hand quilt a large quilt.  I know which quilt it will be.  I just need to get it on the frames and get to work.  In late February or early March.

NOTHING happening here.  And not likely to right now.  Too much going on.  I may need to rethink this one. 

3. Share a tutorial a month.  If I make this a priority I am hoping it will push my creativity.  But, I might be lazy for January and let the balaclava count since I did two in December.

Right on target!  If you check the TUTORIALS page you will see that this year has brought Sew Small Sampler, Drawstring Bag, Chinese Coins Snack Mat, Fading Charms Quilt, Hundred Hugs Quilt and String Twist Quilt.  The Brotherly Love Quilt, a tote bag, and a small fabric object are waiting in the wings.  

4. Love my fabric and not feel guilty for it.  I don’t have a small stash, but I don’t have a large stash either.  I guess it is just right for me.  And I really do love it.  What a feeling of satisfaction it is to just browse through and imagine beautiful things and then see them come to pass.  Bliss!

It is happy time in fabric land.  I really love my fabric.  Scraps are great!  People are kind!  What else can I say about that?

********

So that is it!  There are six month remaining in the year.  What goals do you have to make the best of it?

12 thoughts on “The Half-Way Through 2012 Checkup

  1. It’s amazing to see just how many quilts you’ve made so far this year!

    I usually dread making goals, because I always overestimate what I should be able to do. Then by the time the end of the year comes, I’ve only accomplished half of what I set out to do, and then find myself horribly disappointed in myself for not being able to do more. I’ve since come to the conclusion that for me, it’s best to take things as they come and not worry about setting too many strict goals. 🙂

  2. Great accomplishments this year. Congratulations. I have a bird quilt that I have been working on over the past three years. It’s on the top of my must finish. Next is a quilt inspired by a book I read. MOst of the bits are made for each, I need to discipline myelf to work on them without starting a new project. That\s where I lose it, I start too many projects.

  3. Applause! You have been so productive! I’m impressed! Does that first quilt include cross stitch? I need to re-evaluate the goals I made at the beginning of the year too. I fear that I have doubled my list since then.

  4. I hope you are feeling that great satisfaction glow! Creating beautiful quilts and getting things checked off your to-do and resolution lists! Wow….take time to be proud of yourself!

  5. Great first half of the year. Way to go! No set goals here with me.
    Ditto to the happy time in fabric land, loving my fabric, gathering my scraps and kind people in our lives.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

