It Looks Like Sherbet, But Don’t Tell The Quilt Police

Some time ago these blocks showed up in a scrap bag.  They were few in number–three large, three medium and a handful of smalls–but too cool to just throw away.

So they sat.  Waiting for an idea.  Patiently.

And the idea came, but it required a large number of appropriately colored solid fabrics.  Alas, the budget did not accommodate such an item.  But, the “non-quilting” fabric tub held (shhh!) some cotton-polyester blend scraps.  Wonderful colors.  Which is why I didn’t get rid of them in the first place.

Really, could YOU ignore such pretty colors?  So, in the dark of the night on Thursday I furtively cut the scraps up…to make a quilt…ignoring rules, and laws and nervously expecting the quilt police to bust down the door and take away my rotary cutter forever.

Friday felt like a sewing day.  Have you ever had a day that felt that way? I did other things, too, but every spare minute was spent at the machine putting together blocks.

And, ta-dah!  A sherbet colored quilt.  Ignoring rules paid off this time.  Yes, it is bright, but I do love it!

It is just a throw, about 47″ x 57″.  Now, I need to dig up a backing and binding.  Happy quilt!  Happy quilter! Happy times!

MINI TUTORIAL HERE:  In case you find the idea interesting, the large blocks are 10″ and I used 10 of them, the medium blocks 6-3/4″, also 10 of them, and the small blocks 3-3/4″ and you need a surprising 140 of those.  Randomized layout.  Fun finish! If you want more information, let me know.

Just to show proper respect for the law:  I will continue to use top quality quilt shop fabric in my quilts.  I would never afflict another quilter with sub-standard fabric.  This quilt is only intended as a celebration of creative happiness, not as an affront to tradition and quality that we all value.

UPDATE:  There are several possibilities for ideas that would allow you to create the stripy blocks.

1. A mini tutorial: http://creativelittledaisy.typepad.com/creative_little_daisy/2006/06/two_little_tuts.html

2. Anita Grossman Soloman’s concentric blocks: http://www.makeitsimpler.blogspot.com/search/label/Quilt%20block%3A%20Xcentric%20Concentric

3. Mary Mashuta’s Stripes in Quilts: http://www.marymashuta.com/Pages/Books-Quilts.html

29 thoughts on “It Looks Like Sherbet, But Don’t Tell The Quilt Police

  1. not every quilt i make is destined to become an heirloom that last hundreds of years. Most are made to be used and enjoyed. If it gets used up, then so be it, I’ll make another. If the odd bit of poly has made it’s way in, ow well, that quilt will be replaced when it wears out. not a worry.

  2. I LOVE the quilt top! Of course I always like bright colorful quilts.

    Thanks for the mini-tutorial, I may just jump in and try this!

    Please keep posting these great ideas!!!

  3. i love it!!! the colors are great!!! and so who cares if it is poly/cotton…bet it will outlast the 100% cotton ones…and they are made to use—-and use—-and use!!!! thanks for showing us that and also the tutorial!!! (now i have to find the exact same colors because i want mine to look exactly like that!!)

  4. It’s so sweet, Deanna, just like sherbet. :-p to the quilt police – if they ring my doorbell I absolutely refuse to let them in. LOL Yes, I have days that feel like sew days and I try very hard to indulge. LOL

  5. Um. Ya’ll, I must break this to you . . . . .there is no quilt police, they just tell you that so you’ll think there is, I know, because when they knocked at my door, I told them they don’t exist and I finished a quilt (parts given to me) out of, . . . . are you ready for it? . . . . DOUBLE KNIT POLY!!

  6. A great use of found blocks! The result is lovely. I remember the days when quilting fabrics were not available and we had to use poly and poly-cotton blends or not make quilts with solids. So I too have some in my stash from times of yore, and I use them. I think the problem was that the batting bearded through when poly batting was used; less a problem when cotton batting is used. Also a little harder to handle. But usually better colors.

  7. Love the quilt! I too, have a bunch of poly-cotton blends that I’d love to use up. I’ve tried before but found them slippery and hard to work with. You’ve inspired me to try again!

  8. I sew love your quilt and post to-day. You really made me laugh. I think the busting down the door and taking away the rotary cutter forever is the funniest thing I have heard in a long time. I am so glad you had one of those days and you have made my day to-day.

  9. I’ve always told students to simply be sure the fabrics are about the same weight. I’ll never tell you mixed things up, and hope the quilt police are too busy with those who make serious design flaws. =) Don’t you love how many comments this post engendered? LOL

  10. Hi! Your quilt is so beautiful! I love all those colours and your design is really good! I use available materials even they are not always 100 % cotton just to find colours I need. Sunny wishes from Greece!

  11. I see I’m a little late to the party, but wanted to relate a horrifying story about the Quilt Police. This was probably in the 90s, maybe earlier. There was a call for a US Veterans Home charity, they wanted a bunch of lap robes, so the old geezers wouldn’t get cold, right? Simple was the order of the day, and since you were donating these, you’d naturally use up your least favorite fabrics. And chop-up old ugly clothing that was still in very good condition, but horrible enough that the neediest person would refuse the offer based on style alone. So we read thru the who-what-where of the donating instructions, at the end of which is the admonition, “NO KNITS!!”
    I mean, these fellas are touched that anyone remembers they exist, they are NOT gonna complain that they are being kept warm with Bulletproof Polyester Knit, or a patch of Old Acrylic Cardigan!! When we stopped laughing, we threw the flyer in the trash and had a glass of wine, instead!

  12. BTE, no offense, the quilt you made is lovely, and good for you using the polys…however I’m trying to decide what flavor “sherbet”, is GREEN???
    LOL: Kale!!!

    Keep up the good work!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

