Scrap Cutting

When you are a scrap quilter, it is important to keep a good stock on hand. For my particular style of scrap quilting (at least at this time in my life) precut standard sizes is also important. That way, when I am seized by an idea, I can go to my boxes of  squares and start sewing.

So, nearly every day I try to spend about 10 minutes cutting scrap. That might not sound like much but it keeps things on track.

What can a person really get done in 10 minutes? Quite a bit!

Or, maybe I should say, enough.

If you have a big pile of scraps just sitting there mocking you, you have three choices:

1. Ignore them and hope that something magically happens.

2. Get cutting.

3. Send them to me away to someone who will use them. 🙂

Take the plunge. Make your scraps work for you.

14 thoughts on “Scrap Cutting

    1. Any piece much larger than my hand doesn’t really count as scrap and is filed by color. Smaller pieces are cut into 2-1/2″ strips, 2″ strips, 1-1/2″ strips, 5″ squares, 2-1/2″ squares, 2″ squares, 1-1/2″ squares. They are in bins by size. I am including your question and this answer in a scrappy post later on this week. Deanna.

      ________________________________

  1. I purchased a lot of those photo boxes from Michael’s (wwatch for the sales). I have each box labeled – 2 12/”, 3″, 4″, 5″, etc. You could also use old shoe boxes. I love scrappy and therefore try to keep my boxes full. I also cut the bigger pieces into 1 1/2″, 2 1/2″ strips and store those in the 12 x 12 scrap book boxes. Also pizza boxes are wonderful for these as well as your projects in progress. Most pizza places will give you them for free.
    Happy Scrappy Monday.

  2. Your post made me laugh. I keep mine in various shoeboxes, by size, but Sharyn Craig always kept strips cut in pretty shirt boxes from the fancy stores. Where are you storing yours?

  3. like you i take what time i can to cut my scraps and i have a lot of them..people give me their scraps…i never refuse them…lol…mine are cut into 2″, 2.5″, 4″ and 5″….and strips of various widths…i tell anyone who asks me about cutting or sewing a scrap quilt that just a very few minutes can really make a difference..but then i never put anything away..it is always right there ready for me to work on..some people couldn;t handle that mess!!!

    1. Well, generally I cut it into the largest size possible. If a piece of fabric is larger than about 5″ x 10″, it doesn’t get cut right away. I file it with my other fabric in bins by color. If it is smaller, I cut it into the standard sizes:2-1/2″ strips, 2″ strips, 1-1/2″ strips, 5″ squares, 2-1/2″ squares, 2″ squares, 1-1/2″ squares. These are each stored in bins by size, all colors mixed together. Often, I will cut several pieces from one scrap. Two 2-1/2″ squares and two 2″ squares, for example. I am including this answer in a post about scraps later this week. Thanks for the great question.

      ________________________________

  4. I started to do this a while back. I have various size squares in plastic containers. I have started using them with my craft group. Each month I take my squares or strips and they get to sew using these and at the same time they learn something new. We have made various blocks. I will eventually make the blocks into tops with their help. The group has bought a roll of wadding for me to use and I will find a backing and I will quilt them. We will then use the quilts to gift as community quilts.

  5. I try to cut the scraps as soon as I have finished a project. If there’s enough fabric, I prefer strips. Otherwise, I cut squares down to 1-1/2 inches.
    Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

  6. I just love scrappies, i am cutting for a log cabin, table runners and you have given me plenty of ideas on how to store, thank you and i love your post.

    Mary

  7. Once I’ve gotten better at some other kinds of quilts (I’ve got 2 in the process of being made right now), I want to try a crazy quilt. Odd-shaped scraps will end up being really useful for that, even if trying to sew them all together might drive me insane.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

