Update: Week One Of School

Well, the first week of school and teaching went by very quickly.  I am so happy with my classroom, students and life in general that it is almost silly.

Yes, I am tired.  Yes, there is a lot to do. But it is such a blessing to have a full-time job for my family and one I really LOVE, too.

Nothing to complain about except lack of sewing time.  I managed about 10 minutes here and there, but have nothing ready to share.

Also, so many of you have left kind comments and good wishes this past week that I am not able to respond to all of them.  Please know how much I appreciate your support.  Things will sort themselves out as I and my family adjust to a new routine.  There are many sewing plans and dreams, just not much actual sewing right now.

10 thoughts on “Update: Week One Of School

  1. I’m thrilled to hear that you love your job! to everything there is a season and it sounds like you are blessed and it is a blessing to children when their teacher loves what she does. The sewing will be there when you find the time. There’s never enough time to sew! Wishing you all the best in the coming year!

  2. I too have a self contained program which means many extra hours printing and making communication cards, worksheets, and leisure skills. I enjoy doing alot of it using my cricut but do miss my sewing time dearly. Last year, I was able to sew 15 minutes each morning. At times I had to force myself, as I always though of things to do for work. But I did get alot done and then added 15 in the evening. It truly makes my day complete when I can create and work on ufos. Have a wonderful school year

  3. you are doing great!!! it is not necessary to respond to all of us on here..we know you are there and you are reading us and know we are only wishing you the best..you have an important job and you are doing it well—training up our children in the way they should go..you do not know how much that is needed these days..sew when you can..you will get a routine and find that you can have a few minutes of sewing time every day and things will be back to ‘normal’..and let us know about the the things in your class…i would find that interesting..keep on keepin’ on!!!!

  4. Yay for you! I know when I was teaching, we never made any plans for Friday evenings. Most weeks, by Friday, I was in bed and sound asleep before 8 o’clock ever made it! 🙂

  5. Kudos for and to you. You will do a wonderful job. Before you know it June will be here. Been there, done that, Got a t-shirt.

  6. The first couple of weeks are the hardest because of so many new things to get used to, names to learn, children to know. However, soon, it will become routine, and you will have more time! I’m so glad you love the job and students. That makes it all worth doing. =)

  7. Happy days for you and yours. Sewing will wait, precious minds need the nurturing daily. Your routine will eventually come.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

