Thank You, Daddy!

A while back I was on the phone with my Father.  He said he was sending me something, but he couldn’t find a box for it.  “Dad, how can you not find a box?”  “Well, I’m going to have to make one.”  So, I waited to see what would arrive.

And it did arrive.  No picture of the box, sadly, but it was long, thin and heavy.  Out came five pieces of wood and a baggie of bolts.  And a picture:  Quilt Rack!

Husband hung it downstairs outside my laundry sewing room.

I LOVE IT!

Daughter and I rounded up enough quilts to cover it with fabric goodness.  This is all the finished quilts that I know of in the house that aren’t promised to new homes or on beds.

The whole room is a nicer place.  Thank you, Daddy!

ps–Yes, that is a lot of firewood outside the window.  I like the security of being warm all winter.  A crackling fire and a cozy quilt.  Perfect!

21 thoughts on “Thank You, Daddy!

  1. All that love in one room – how could you NOT be warm. I think all of you that are blessed to have your dad’s still in your lives should take time today just to call them and say “I Love You”! Sometimes we forget how much it means to hear those three little words!
    .
    Sorry to be emotional, but his sweet, thoughtful, kindness just really touched my heart this morning. Thank you for a special morning blessing. You are a lucky lady, and I’ll bet he knows he is a lucky dad!!

  2. That is *awesome*!!! What a lovely idea and gift! I love your stack of wood outside the window … perfect! Do you have any special plans for our ‘big’ day coming up?! 🙂

  3. Thia is a beautiful quilt rack..your Dad better watch out !!lots of quilters are going to want this !!!

    Barbara in Beautiful Meaford,Ontario,Canada Philippians:4,11,I have learned to be content where I am. (my words for this scripture)

    Home is where you hang your heart.

    Date: Wed, 3 Oct 2012 12:03:39 +0000 To: parkerholler@hotmail.com

  4. What a wonderful and thoughtful dad to send something that you would love and would fit with your passions. With all the quilts you make, that means you give away almost every one! I love seeing prom dance in there. A three-generation decorative for your house. =) If he wants to make a mini version, I have a spot and some perfectly-sized mini-quilts to hang on it. 😉

  5. i love it and methinks it might be an early birthday gift too!!!! (oops!!! oct 10).. that just makes the room more gorgeous !!!! more comfy and homey and loved….what a great gift…

  6. What a sweet gift – it’s gorgeous! I love that your Daddy made it for you. You made me miss mine. 😦 Gifts from the heart are always the very best ones. My Daddy used to make boxes too. 🙂

  7. What a great idea for a quilt rack and your quilts look beautiful on it. Susan is right that this would be a good idea for a mini-rack.
    .Lillian
    lillianscupboard.wordpress.com

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

