Speedy Baby Quilt

Foster Daughter and her husband welcomed baby#2, David William, to the world on Friday.  Babies take a while to get ready.  We have a lot of notice.  But, somehow,  I hadn’t made  a thing for the new arrival.

So, Friday night turned into a sewing marathon:  Speedy Baby Quilt.  Here are a few pictures.

Whew!  Done and delivered to the hospital Saturday afternoon.

Just a few notes on the quilt:  I had a single fat quarter the car fabric.  That yielded 12 5″ squares.  Combine with other scrappy fabrics that were tonal or very plain prints. I look for something that matches and won’t take the focus off the novelty print.  I used a total of 64 squares.  Random layout.  The finished quilt is 36″ square.  Not large, but OK for a newborn.  And just right for times when you need a speedy quilt.

11 thoughts on “Speedy Baby Quilt

  1. Congratulations on the new baby boy. My daughter is ready to deliver any day now. It’s funny because I have this same car fabric in my stash and I was trying to decide how to use it. You might have just inspired a quilt. Have a great day!
    Beth

  2. Perfect size for a newborn and as a drag along quilt for a toddler. I remember the Studebaker, it looked the same from the front or rear view, i think they came out right after WW ll..

  3. Super cute! I just don’t think you can go wrong with patchwork. It draws me every time. I need to stitch up some speedy baby quilts – those babies just keep coming! 🙂 Congratulations!

  4. i love it!!! love the car theme and the colors…i like brights for babies…and congrats to parents and grandparents..you have a lot of babies to love lately…

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

