All Small Week Day 4: Mouse Pincushion or Ornament

Here we are for All Small Week Again Day 4:  Mouse Pincushion.

I have been trying to get rid of mice around here, but the scratching, chewing, pooping mice just aren’t as cute as this one.

Who could resist a mouse pincushion?  Or ornament?  THIS TUTORIAL seemed simple enough…It turned out larger than I expected, and required more hand-sewing than I regularly do.

I changed the directions around a bit, using this textured grey linen scrap rather than felt and machine sewing when I could–the tail, around the ears and the large body seam.  The top half is stuffed with fiberfil and the bottom with crushed walnut shell, which I poured in to the very last stitching space using a funnel.  It has a nice weight and stands up easily on its own. If you wanted to make an ornament, just add a hanger and use all fiberfil.

It is definitely charming.  For a mouse.

Come back tomorrow for the exciting finale:  Day 5.

PS–Here is the complete link: http://bustleandsew.com/freepatterns/PinCushionMicepdf.pdf

5 thoughts on “All Small Week Day 4: Mouse Pincushion or Ornament

  1. That’s adorable. Love it in linen. I have the fabric I bought last April to make one very like this. I might have to actually do it! Either link I clicked downlaoded the tutorial. =)

  2. i used to do craft shows with a gal who made and sold these….never knew what she stuffed them with but made them in Christmas fabric and they sold like crazy…i do want to make some for pincushions for gifts..this will be the year of the pincushion from me…(Sparkle Jane made me a bunch too..gotta get some fancy pins for them..) thanks for the idea and the tutorial …

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

