TUTORIAL: Charmed Fabric Bowl

So, if you have enough quilts, why not start quilting the dishes?  Better than doing the dishes.  And, you can just throw it in the washing machine with all the other fabric when it gets dirty!

CHARMED FABRIC BOWL

MATERIALS

36 2-inch squares (charms)

scrap of fabric at least 9-1/2″ square for lining

scrap of fusible fleece at least 9-1/2″ square

strip of fabric 2-1/4″ by at least 17-inches long

NOTE:  You can also do this with other size charms.  If using 1-1/2″ charms you will need 81. If using 2-1/2″ charms, you will need 25.

CONSTRUCTION

1. Lay out your charms squares into a 36-patch.  You will want to make sure your favorite pieces are NOT in the corners, as most of them will be cut off  in the process. Piece the charms into strips and create your block.

2. Using a 9-inch round template (in my case a pasta bowl), cut a circle from the lining fabric, the fusible fleece and your 36-patch block.

3.  Fuse the fleece to the wrong side of the patchwork circle.

4. Layer with the lining face down, the fusible between and the patchwork face up.  Baste around the  circle, very close to the edge.

5. If your machine will gather this many layers, I am very happy for you.  Mine will not. So, I zip around the circle taking about 1/4-inch stitches by hand with a double thread that will gather up nicely.

6. Gather your bowl, lining on the inside, until it has a diameter of about 5 inches. Distribute gathers as evenly as possible. Your bowl should be about 2 inches high and 5 inches across.

7. Attach binding on the outside of the bowl.  Turn to the inside and stitch down.  Again, if you can do this by machine, that’s great, but I can’t.  So I do it by hand.

8. Ta-dah!  One cute little bowl!

NOTE:  This project was significantly influenced by THIS TUTORIAL.  I have changed it, but like to give credit where it is due.

Please share any you make.  Everyone loves show and tell!

CHARMED BOWL GALLERY

Your project here…

16 thoughts on “TUTORIAL: Charmed Fabric Bowl

  1. I don’t know how you have any charm squares left! However, the bowl is a great project and only uses a few. This is a great week of small.

  2. This is a great teaching tool/ project for those who desire to teach others how to handle and sew small blocks, especially those that might feel the fear of small piecing. Small block seams can be overwhelming for both young and old. The added bonus is a small adorable project! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Cute project! Want to try it… Just thought I’d leave a tip here- when gathering heavy or thick fabric, it works well to zig-zag with tiny stitches over a length of crochet thread or string. Then pull the string to gather!

  4. In #7, it says attach binding on outside of bowl. Is this done just like quilt binding? I want to try this, but I’m one of those that has a hard time matching up seams on the machine. I don’t know why but no matter what I try, it always looks sloppy. I have some 5# charms. Would I just cut them in quarters? Thanks for the tutorial. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

  5. an easier way to gather: Place a length of strong thread onto the fabric where you want the gathers to be. Stitch a zigzag stitch over the thread. Pull the piece of thread and voila! Perfect gathers!

  6. Looks esy and fun until the binding part. How do you stitch the binding thru that many layers? I really want to try ome but the binding part has me stumped.

  7. Instead of using 2 threads, try dental floss. I use it on anything I have to gather because it won’t break. You can also use a zig-zag stitch across the floss and then gather by pulling the ends. Just be sure to leave about 4 to 5 inches on each end. Pull from both ends and it makes it easy to tie the two ends together if you are making a circle.

  8. I would sew binding to inside then turn to right side then topstitch. It will look neat and is much quicker than hand sewing.

  9. Who thinks of these daring projects that we are all frenzied to copy? I can’t wait to make this! I love small projects. I don’t have to wait to see the finished product!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

