Making Sense

I woke up at 5am this morning with a heavy heart, so sad for the people of Connecticut.

Rather than just lay there with my mind spinning, I got out of bed and ventured downstairs to my sewing space.

Sorting embroidery floss.  Ironing.  A little mending.  These are the things I do at times like this.  As the floss comes untangled, as the wrinkles are ironed away, I somehow feel more untangled and less wrinkled.

It doesn’t  change the world.  Things are still hard and likely to get  harder.  But, peace,  even in sorrow, is not impossible.

I refuse to give in to fear. I refuse to give in to hate. I refuse to give in to evil.

When Faith ENdures

I will not doubt, I will not fear;
God’s love and strength are always near.
His promised gift helps me to find
An inner strength and peace of mind.
I give the Father willingly
My trust, my prayers, humility.
His Spirit guides; his love assures
That fear departs when faith endures.
 
Naomi W. Randall, 1908-2001. (c) 1985 IRI 

9 thoughts on “Making Sense

  1. The whole world is mourning with you. We were in shock here in Canada when we heard the news.
    Thank you for that prayer. I am having a double mastectomy next Thursday and I think it is appropriate for many situations.

  2. Thank you. I am just struck by the thoughts that they were just babies – they still believed in Santa. What a monstrous act, to take those babies’ lives and to taint their parents’ Christmas. I hope and pray the parents have a strong faith they can turn to. That is their only hope.

  3. I am a kindergarten teacher by profession so I am finding myself weeping and saddened beyond belief that someone could go in and destroy the lives of so many innocents. My heart goes out to the whole community- may they surround each other with love and compassion in the difficult times ahead .
    It is important to find ways to be joyful and hopeful at this time too.
    Regards from western Canada,
    Anna

  4. I find that ironing is soothing to me…all it takes is a little heat, and a little pressure & things just smooth out-in my mind and on the ironing board. The dreadful news of yesterday is truly heart wrenching. My deepest sympathies are extended to all of the children and adults touched by these horrid events.
    I feel the need to go iron a backing for a quilt I plan to have done by Wed

  5. thank you for sharing your grief and your comfort. a SAD time for this nation as we grieve this community’s loss. May God bless America.

  6. what a terrible thing to happen at any time…i am so sorry for the families, the friends, the whole town, the whole state, the whole country..may God Bless us all…..

  7. Thank you for sharing this – welcome words of comfort in the midst of such sadness. Would you mind if I added this in a note along with the pillowcases I am sending to Connecticut?

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

