Four Cents Finished

Well, the snow stopped, eventually, but first it dumped about 12″ on us.  YAY!  We always need the water and it gave me a lot of extra (meaning “guilt free”) sewing time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Four Cents quilt is finished.  It may seem that it came together quickly, but it was more than a year in the making.  I started sewing four patches together, just to see what would happen.  Every time I had a little piece leftover from another project, I would cut pairs of 2-1/2″ squares–two print/colored and two background.  These were run through the machine as leader-enders.  Before I knew it, there were about 400 four-patches in a patient pile, waiting for me to do something with them.

Cute as they were, a pile of blocks is not the same as a quilt.  Daughter and I settled on a layout, and I got the top sewn together.  Then it sat.  For quite a while.

But, good things come to those who wait, and finally there was enough time to get serious about getting it done.

And, here it is.  I call it “Four Cents” because it might be the cheapest quilt I have ever made.  The top was completely free, as it was just bits and pieces of leftovers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back is a large piece of (probably) 80’s calico with leftover blocks to make sure it was wide enough.  I don’t even know where it came from, a hand-me-down from someone.  The binding is scrappy, again leftovers from other quilts. The batting and thread are the only things I bought.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It is surprisingly large finished: 72″ x 88″.  A large twin or even enough for a full size bed.  The quilting is v’s radiating out from the center through the background squares.  I really like the effect.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, there it is, a nice way to end 2012, or, at least, I think so.  I don’t have another quilt very close to a finish.  There are a few smaller projects though….

15 thoughts on “Four Cents Finished

  1. Beautiful quilt. Someone told me years ago to cut scraps into 2.5 inch strips, squares or 5 inch strips. If you must, make a pile of 1.5 inch strips. Throw everything else away. Even ugly fabric looks good when cut it small enough. I adhere to these rules.

  2. What a way to end the year!!!! The quilt is beautiful. I love the layout, I love the way you quilted it and I do love the look of that 80’s fabric you used on the back. You certainly have made good use of the time you have had over the break. Snow or no snow, you would’ve made good use of your time.

  3. What you have managed to accomplish with just a few days off has put me to shame! I need to stop watching Netflix and eating Christmas chocolates and get to quilting! Thanks for the reminder!
    Tricia

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

