Pincushion: A Quick Morning Project

Yesterday I was at the thrift store and found a pair of jeans (miracle) and a belt.  And, this cute little dish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It came home with me (for 69-cents) to try out an idea.  I have seen similar projects at various times, but here is a description of how I made mine (minus pictures, because I was too focused on the idea to tend to details.  Naughty blogger.)

1. Cut a circle of fabric about 3 times the diameter of the bowl.  My bowl is about 4-1/2″ and the circle of fabric was about 11″, but a bigger piece of fabric would have been better.

2. Do a large, running stitch around the perimeter of the circle.  Use sturdy thread, you are going to gather it.

3. Stuff it REALLY full of fiberfil; use more than you think you need.

4. Pull your gathers tight and shape to fit the bowl.  It will be a puffy cushion.

5. Use one or more buttons to finish the top.  Run thread through at least twice and pull it tight to tuft the cushion.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6. Find a handy matching piece of trim.  I used crocheted lace. Hot glue it to the perimeter of the cushion.

7.  Settle the cushion into the bowl and hot glue in place.  Ta-dah!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The whole project took about an hour.  Christmas 2013, here I come!

14 thoughts on “Pincushion: A Quick Morning Project

  1. Fun and simple – I like that the dish gives it some weight so it won’t tip – that’s always a problem for me – I end up knocking my pincushion on the floor a lot.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

