January Block Report

Ah, that Shelly is a slave driver!  She expects me to finish 350 blocks this year.

While it seems like a lot, January went surprisingly well.  My final count for the month:  28.

Not quite one a day, but close.

I finished 20 little star blocks for a baby quilt (still waiting to be quilted),

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and, in the meantime, 7 leader-ender blocks,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and, Thursday night I took the plunge and made the first Oh My Stars block that has only been waiting for a year…more than that….Now there is no turning back.  The quilt will be made!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is a definite “star” theme going on here.  The nice thing about the basic star is they look fancy but aren’t a crazy amount of work.  That is what I need right now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With any luck, today won’t just be a day where groundhogs look for shadows, but my own shadow might cross the doorway of my sewing room and get a few blocks in to start the month of February off right. NOTE:  As Merrie kindly pointed out, it isn’t Groundhog Day today.  It is tomorrow. Silly me!  Time to go sew a little anyway.

9 thoughts on “January Block Report

  1. I hope you had some wonderful sewing time. Congratulations on your total for the month, and starting the stars. I think we only had to do 17 since the project started late. So you’re ahead!

  2. I like your Leader & enders blocks, great use of scraps. Well so far, I have made 60, Hills & Valleys blocks, for a new king size quilt, quilted 3 baby quilts, for Kids Quilts and 1 bound. Nex will be disappearing 9 patch quilts. Well “Happy Quilting ” everyone .

  3. I’ve just read your post on leader-enders and I think that using including them in your monthly total could be cheating!! 🙂
    On the other hand, you made them and my total for this year is nowhere near your total for just January, so yay you!
    ClaireBear

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

