The Girly Movement Spreads

After seeing all the finery created for Daughter lately, Daughter’s friend “needed” a skirt, too.  So, this morning while I couldn’t sleep, I whipped up this creation.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She had looked through the available fabric and set aside some that appealed to her.  I particularly like the ruffle made from what I think is a scrap of a vintage sheet.

This isn’t exactly what she thought she wanted, as the creative mood moves us where it will.  But, I hope she likes it. I really like the trim detail between the yoke and body  (Though, after a second look, it is not perfectly applied).  It is Soutache Braid, which was in my big pile of junk marked at 85-cents.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, on the inside of the label, this special offer.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sure wish they still honored it!

5 thoughts on “The Girly Movement Spreads

  1. darling skirt…i know she will like it…years ago i made Barbie clothes to pay for my first sewing machine—a White that was fuscia!!! i used to buy wright’s trims for all kinds of uses and i would send in those labels and my dollar and get good selections for use in my doll clothes…try it if you have 2 more labels..i think they would honor it..

  2. The skirt is great! I envision a whole high school of girls wearing girly clothes again! =) I remember those offers they used to have. I don’t think I ever took advantage of one, sadly.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

