Baby Quilt Finished

And, the baby quilt is finished.  Saturday was a good sewing day, and I stitched down the binding while visiting with family Sunday afternoon.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The quilting is diagonal lines along the corners of the pinwheels.  I think it sets up an interesting secondary pattern and doesn’t interfere with the simple design.  My gratitude to Michelle for a great TUTORIAL.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back is trains…just right for a baby boy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All 2-1/2″ squares and a little background fabric…just right for a scrappy quilter.

13 thoughts on “Baby Quilt Finished

  1. Cute as anything. I love the way you quilted it, and that the photo on the decking shows the quilting lines. Great job. Now, who gets to have the baby? =)

  2. Love the way you have incorporated the train fabric and the pinwheel scrappy quilt into one! I do have some playful fabric that I will use in this way… A quilt for baby and for the older ones in one. thanks for sharing..
    Blessings
    🙂

  3. What a nice little quilt! I love the train fabric for the backing. This is sure to bring a little boy lots of pleasure!

  4. darling baby quilt..love the colors and the backing…have no babies right now to sew for but will keep that one in mind..pinwheels—-well half square triangles–are my favorite quilt pattern…congrats on finishing it…

  5. How sweet!! I must say I raise a cup of joe as a toast to your perfect points!! That’s one lucky mommy who will wrap her little man in that beauty! You can never go wrong with trains. Isn’t there a tool of some sort that is supposed to help with points? I don’t know why but I’m about 75/25 on point success and that just isn’t good enough. Any ideas? Thanks

    1. Oh, you didn’t look too close at the quilt or you would have seen many less-than-perfect points. The only tips I might offer are 1. square up your HST and 2. iron so they nest together. Other than that, it is a combination of luck and practice. Luckily, babies don’t pay too much attention to the points. 🙂

  6. Great colors for a baby boy quilt. Fun to see this pattern made from different fabrics. I am just going to have to copy these quilts that you and Michelle have made.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

