QUILT ALONG: Something To Share With All Of You

Everytime I have a giveaway (see previous post, if you haven’t already), I feel guilty. After all, there is one giveaway gift and 500+ of you. And each of you is important. How is that fair?  So, each time I have a giveaway I try to share a tutorial also to even it out a little and make sure there is something for everyone.

This time I thought I would do a sort of quiltalong. Does that sound fun?
Remember when I shared this?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am turning it into a quilt called Super Stars.

If you want to participate you need either:
1. layer cake–42 10″ squares, or
2. four coordinating 5″ charm packs (it really helps if they are in pairs–so you have two of each charm), or
3. 160 scrap cut 5″ squares. Again, it really helps if they are in pairs, at least two of each type of fabric. So, cut or raid your scrap box for 2 5″ squares of 80 different fabrics. This will give the coolest, genuine scrappy look. As soon as the quiltalong is over, I am making one of these.

You will also need background fabric, about 5-3/4 yards.

I will post the first set of directions on Saturday, May 4, 2013. Once the quiltalong finishes, the entire quilt will be posted as a tutorial.

We are making a full size quilt, approximately 78″x96″ finished. Not hard. Large pieces. Reasonable pace. Oh, come on and jump in!

18 thoughts on “QUILT ALONG: Something To Share With All Of You

  1. I may wind up doing it at the end, because my college roomie is coming for the last half of May, but I’m sure I’ll give it a shot. Thanks for thinking of this!

  2. Thinking about background, I know it will depend on fabrics chosen for squares, but will a dark or a light work better?

    1. I am using light background fabric, but, if you look at the quilts I have done recently, I am in a light phase. Thanks for asking.

  3. since i have the charm packs i am going for it!!!! just have to see about my background fabric but i’m sure i have some ….what fun..i may get behind at the beginning as my family will all be here may 20 to june 2 for my grandson’s wedding but then my summer is going to be quiet…thanks for a nice break from finish it up year for me..

  4. Thanks for doing this! I have a few ongoing projects, but would love to participate in your QAL. Will begin cutting charm squares from my stash of scraps. Lots of things going on here lately, but I’ll try my best to keep up!
    Thanks again, Karen

  5. Sounds like fun! I’ve got a couple layer cakes laying around for which I have no plan. I probably won’t be able to participate in the quilt along because I have too many other things going on at the moment. But I enjoy your tutorials so I’ll be checking in to watch your progress and probably file this idea away for later.

  6. My sister sent me 450 5in squares recently that she found at Goodwill. I need to use some of them. This sounds like a good use!

  7. can’t wait to see where this is going. . .I, like many others, have a FEW UFO’s that need my attention, before starting another. About to finish one tonight 🙂

  8. If using a layer Cake, there will be 8 charms of each fabric. Would it be helpful to keep them in 4 identical stacks to keep them in pairs, but to keep the pairs separate? Or does this not matter?

    1. Some layer cakes have one of each fabric, some have two. As long as you keep the charms together in pairs, it probably doesn’t matter. I would keep all of the same fabric together, though, because that will come in handy on the next step. You will know what you have and where it is.

  9. Can we see what the finished quilt looks like? I don’t want to jump in if it isn’t something that appeals to me.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

