The Big Clean: Sparkle Jane 2013

We have an annual tradition called the Big Clean.  It should probably apply to every room in the house, but it really just applies to the children’s rooms.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But, they probably are the rooms that need it the worst.

So, sometime right after school gets out, we get serious.  The room is emptied to the bare walls, usually except for the bed frame.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then, from the living room staging area, every single item must be touched and either put away, given away, thrown away…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sparkle Jane worked really hard.  She emptied her room quickly and then started sorting.  Before the day was over she filled three trash cans, three recycling cans and five bags to charity. And, the room looks so much better.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We rearrange the furniture, just to give it a fresh look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

She has dedicated sewing space.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And a peaceful, clean place to enjoy.

We went out for Italian Ice afterwards.  A well-earned treat.  No swimming today.  Hopefully tomorrow.

 

10 thoughts on “The Big Clean: Sparkle Jane 2013

  1. that is such a good habit you have there…the only room that really needs that here is my sewing room……. one of these days!!! great job sparkle jane….it looks great!!!!!

  2. I was just telling her that her room was an inspiration to me. I need to stop whining about how hard it is to clean my sewing room and just get back to it. I have been gradually bringing stuff out to the family room downstairs and putting it in piles. But there is SO MUCH! I did get some organizer shelves and that is helping. I’m cutting some fabric into quilt kits for our charity group’s sewing bees and that will help – should have enough to last into the next century….

  3. Oh! my, I need a lay down. Just thinking of all that work makes me tired.
    Good on her for getting it done so quick. How is son doing.

  4. I’m jealous that she has so much energy. It took me weeks to get half done with my sewing room! Now I’m working on the music room so the piano tuner can come in.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

