Those Babies Need Hats

The twin grandbabies are turning one in a week.  It is so hard not to shower them with stuff.  But, I remind myself that what they really need they already have–loving parents, enough to eat and a safe place to sleep.  Oh, they have much more than that, too.  Our Middle Son and daughter-in-law are doing a truly great job tending to these two little blessings.

P5

But, I did want to do something, so I made them little hats using the leftovers from their baby quilts.   Such fun!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With even Sparkle Jane all grown up, it is nice to work with tiny pieces of fabric and on a small scale.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love building same-but-different projects.  I did it for Sparkle Jane and Young Son a lot when they were younger, even though they are not twins.  It is even more fun  for a truly matched set.  Baby Boy is quite a bit larger than Baby Girl, which seems somehow appropriate, but that is the fun of building them myself.  I can customize!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The hats go in the mail today, to carry our love to those babies.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The pattern is Jack and Jill by Izzy and Ivy designs.  Multiple sizes.  Accurate directions.  Darling results.  Good project.

13 thoughts on “Those Babies Need Hats

  1. They are as cute as can be – both the babies and the hats. It’s hard to imagine that it’s been a year already! The hats will be perfect in the summer sun!

  2. Oh my goodness! The twins are adorable and those hats are just too cute! You are so talented and those babies are so blessed! Hope you’ll share a picture of them wearing the hats.

  3. Those grand babies are just glorious! Boy do they ever grow up too fast[,our babies didn’t seem to do that…….] The hats are just kooky delicious and I will be getting that pattern. Finally moving tomorrow-Yippee!! I see the light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks for the boost too-the girls hat made me giddy happy just to look at it,the flower is better than butterscotch!Kudos on the fabric selections,perfect!

  4. I am so envious of you.  At this particular time I have no little ones to sew for 8>{…Eldest GS was married last summer, but as yet no news of any baby…I’m far too young to be a Great-grandmother…on my birthday in March I turned 21 and 22 And 23. .  The hats are darling. Dana in NE  

  5. what darling babies…and I love the hats…it is sooo hard not to make them everything you can think of..i know they are loved to pieces..they are so lucky to have loving parents and grandparents…

  6. I love the hats. It is hard to believe that one year has nearly passed since those precious little cuties were born. Happy Birthday to them!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

