Quilters Have Opinions, Thank Goodness!

How lucky am I?  Any time I have a problem or question I have keyboard-quick access to a powerful and knowledgeable and WILLING support group spread all over the world.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My recent request for an “honest opinion” on the Mixed Blessings concept is a case in point.  So many of you took the time to read the post, look at the picture and analyze the problem. Your comments were specific and helpful.

Ann’s reaction of “Meh”  sums up how I feel about it at this point.  I want to LOVE my quilts.  That is what drives me to finish them.  I can’t wait to see how beautiful they are.  That is not how I feel about this quilt.

The number one concern of SueAnn and many others is the larger squares sprinkled amongst the small squares–overpowering and seemingly out of place.  Hmmm…I may have put them in out of laziness as much as anything, and I will have to think if they really belong or not.  Or, maybe, as Betty and others suggested, they won’t look so out of place in the bigger picture.

The most common suggestion is to add sashing.  Hmm…good idea, and I will have to work on the math.

The entire Mixed Blessings quilt idea was vaguely bothering me.  That is why I sought for help during the construction stage rather than just pushing on.  I believe that a solution is out there, but the entire project is going to the back burner for a while,  an idea that needs to simmer.  And, I know that when it comes time to share, or ask for more ideas, I have all of you friendly, kind, helpful people as experts full of opinions and advice as a resource.  

Mary, you (and all of you) cheering me on really helps. Thank you so much!

5 thoughts on “Quilters Have Opinions, Thank Goodness!

  1. You are a very kind person. How could anyone be mean to you. I am grateful that all the people out there were so nice with their comments. Your group of bloggers on your site are a very considerate group. Great ladies.
    In this crazy world it is nice to see the younger people so courteous. Just the thoughts of an Old lady.

  2. I still love it..don’t give up on the larger squares..what I like about it most is all the different size squares but I love the colors..scrappy quilts make me happy..i love all the colors and all the prints and they look fun…every once in awhile while you are letting it ‘simmer’ something you are working on will make you think of it and you will get another idea..it will be beautiful…

  3. I didn’t get to read your original post until today and it just hit me: How about a larger square smack dab in the middle of 3 surrounds of the smaller patches and then one round of neutral patches? Don’t know if that even makes sense, but it looks promising in my head. 🙂 I really just love all those colors in your blocks!

  4. Your quilt is just that, Yours. Continue on your masterpiece, your Grandchildren will love it, providing that you have Grandchildren. You can always leave it in your will, give it to your favorite person. That person will be blessed by yourself.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

