Done Is Good

Sometimes done is good enough.  I started this string quilt about two years ago.  I thought it would be interesting to try a more controlled color scheme than my usual “anything goes” approach to scrap quilting.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, it turns out that I didn’t like it.  And the quilt  was pushed aside.  But there was too much done to just throw it away.  So, I decided to downsize the project from “twin” to “throw” and push through and finish.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Today was a rainy Labor Day holiday, perfect for some extra sewing time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I finished the last several blocks and made it a top.  It is about 45″x54″.  Reasonable for a throw. I still don’t love it.  But, it will make a good donation quilt someday.  And, the person who gets it may just give it the love a quilt deserves.  Me?  I love that it is done.

16 thoughts on “Done Is Good

  1. I really like it too, but I can sympathize with the doldrums that come with not liking something as much as you thought you would. Besides the color, the off center focus looks good to me. Someone out there loves red and yellow…and it will find them.

  2. I love this quilt top. I hand piece and hand quilt and donate to charity. If you want, you can send it to me and i will finish it or any others you have and donate to the charity of your choice. I love paying it forward but my only income is less than four hundred dollars monthly for disability, so i cant afford to buy fabric. Blessings, Barbara babscorbitt@ gmail dot com

  3. I am with Barbara…it is a great donation size and I do donation quilts all the time. It would brighten up any child’s life and I would finish it and send it to wrap them in love, the children’s charity I sew for. In fact, I just finished one!
    At least you finished it -and learned what works best for you! and I love all those colors personally.

  4. I can see that this top is out of ‘your box’…not too structured as your quilts usually are but I like it…having said that I have yet to do a string quilt that I liked—no matter what color combination ..it is just not my thing yet I keep on saving ‘strings’…from here it is very pretty…and I know someone will love it..

  5. Done “IS” good…. I do understand not liking something so much when it’s done, but your quilt is very colorful & cheerful. It’s a happy quilt!

  6. Congrats on finishing. This is so very different. And so busy. Proud of you for finishing. Sometimes that is the hardest thing to do.

  7. I love the modern feel to a traditional string quilt. It’s a very happy quilt. It made me smile as soon as I opened my e-mail and saw the quilt.

  8. I love it, it is one of the kind of quilts I like. Sometimes appliqueing flowers or something can soften the look. It will be greatly loved by someone in need. It is always a great feeling to finally get something accomplished and out of the way. ! 🙂

  9. I LOVE it!!!! You know me-anything wild and scrappy makes my little heart go pitty-pat! I too have had projects I’ve not had that loving feeling for and it does make it very hard to finish them.2 years is not too bad,I had some blocks for at least 5 years and most of them have finally found a home.Donating to charity is always good for the soul-for both the giver and the receiver. Nice work-I really like everything about it!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

