A Fresh Breeze Blowing

After a finish I like to reward myself with a new project.  This is the beginning of a Summer Breeze quilt from Scrap Basket Surprises by Kim Brackett. (Incidentally, she has a new book out.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All of her quilts are based on 2-1/2″ strips and great for scrap quilters like me.

This one will be a wedding quilt for a co-worker, a lovely and deserving young woman named Jenna. She has chosen such pretty wedding colors, and I am working them into the quilt.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Just a small funny story about Jenna.  A while back, my then-14-year-old-son found out Jenna wasn’t married.  “That!” he exclaimed, throwing up his hands, “Is proof than men are idiots!”  I guess one man finally got the right idea.

6 thoughts on “A Fresh Breeze Blowing

  1. I like the colors. And if it is all with 2 1/2 inch strips maybe a jelly roll would work. I have a few of them and couldn’t decide what to do with them. Can’t wait to see the finished project. You go girl.

  2. I love the colors of her wedding and the quilt..i know she will love it..i happen to be working on one right now that has one of those fabrics you have chosen in it..i can hardly wait to see what yours looks like..i like working with the 2.5″ strips—jelly rolls..let us see it in progress…

  3. beautiful palate! i love autumn!

    your son is discerning…….

    i am binding today–wishing to do another start, but that will not get to happen for a long while yet….too many irons in the fire that need some finishing first

  4. Young son’s comment made me laugh! Clear-eyed vision only available in young men. =) I love the fabrics you’ve shown and look forward to seeing what the blocks look like.

  5. I LOVE Kim’s books – I have all of them and have tagged so many of the pages as quilts I want to do “some day”! I actually have Picnic cut out and several blocks done, but it will be a king size quilt so I think I will be working on that one a loooooonnnng time.

  6. I realize this isn’t Dr.Phil but I believe we are all smart,sharp women.So why is it that so many discerning,smart young men seem to lose this in young adulthood!? Kim’s books are like Cracker Jack-you start with 1 but you wind up needing them all……. The fabrics are as always gorgeous and I look forward to seeing the quilt be ‘born”-Jenna is a lucky lady!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

