Refashion Runway Sewalong Week Four: Leather

After reading the misadventures of the other refashionistas on Refashion Runway, I am more grateful than ever for my Grandma Mary’s Pfaff 130.  While I struggled with the different drape and handling properties of leather, no needles were broken during the creation of this item of clothing.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We started with a skirt purchased at the thrift store for $2.50.  I liked the soft texture of the suede and how lightweight it was, but the fit was off on daughter.  The skirt was long and straight.  What we needed was short and curvy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Detatch waistband.  Add a few darts. Shorten.  Scallop.  Attach waistband. How hard could that be?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was trickier than I anticipated.  For example, you can’t pin leather.  Holes are permanent.  So I used a glue stick for basting.  It worked really well.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some of the seams ended up a little crooked.  But, the final piece is  wearable. For only $2.50 and a few hours time, it was a good learning experience. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visit Refashion Runway for more leather inspiration.  Maybe you’ll be inspired to  sew along too.  Next week:  Halloween!

14 thoughts on “Refashion Runway Sewalong Week Four: Leather

  1. I have never sewn on leather of any type and would not even think to do it but that is beautiful..that scalloped hem is just the ‘topper’…and the model is beautiful!!!!

  2. Wonderful, very impressive. I do not sew clothing at all. My mom did. She was very talented. Both my sisters are clothing-capable. But not me. Still I enjoy seeing your transformations. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Years ago I was a stay at home seamstress. I can’t tell you how many military uniforms I tapered for the reserves but it was in the hundreds. And I have made so many wedding gowns and bridesmaid dresses. You are a very talented woman. Your daughter is beautiful. But I am impressed with the evenness of the scallops. Great work mom. By the way getting seams straight is very hard on any type of leather, brushed or hard. And so is velvet materials. I’d rather work on chiffon then on them. Again great work.

  4. I agree with what everyone said about the scallops and the model–she is adorable! Thanks for promoting modest fashion!!! I want to make this outfit for my daughter. I do have a question. How did you make the scallops? Did you take any pictures of that step? Thanks!

    1. Thanks! The leather skirt was a challenge, but worth it in the end. The scallops were traced from a drinking glass on the inside of the skirt and then cut out. Sorry I don’t have pictures. It was a little impulsive. Not too difficult, but a fun touch.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

