Excitement And Apologies

First, the excitement.  The last block of the Oh My Stars quilt is done.  Only 2,516 pieces, but who’s counting? I have been piecing this a little at a time since January, and, 148 blocks later it is ready for layout.

Big pieces first.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Middle size next. (Sorry for the blurry picture.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fill in the blanks with all those little ones –all 89 of them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ta-dah…I am so excited to see an idea finally becoming reality.

I have probably walked downstairs an extra twenty times between yesterday and today just to look at it spread out there on my design floor.  Assembly will take a while, but at least I can see it now.

So, that is the “excitement” part of this post.  Now for the apology.

I am sorry for being a neglectful blogger.  So many of you write me the kindest and most encouraging comments, and I am so far behind acknowledging them.  There are about 100 unanswered e-mails in my in-box.  I feel terrible.  Please don’t feel unappreciated.  I really do read and value all of your comments but, between teaching school and trying to be a wife and mother and keeping the house reasonably on the safe side of dirty…well, e-mail has been neglected.  Please forgive me and I will really try hard to do better in the future.

And, now I am going to rotate laundry.  Which just happens to be downstairs.  Which means I get to look at that quilt again.  It is so….so what I had hoped and dreamed it would be.  I wish we could all stand there together and just say, “Ah, yes, this is why we love quilting–ideas become reality!” and then go have a marathon stitching party on our favorite projects.  That would be really fun!

 

21 thoughts on “Excitement And Apologies

  1. This project is just SO enjoyable to look at. And I’ve been inspired by a number of your quilts. Don’t know how you do it–with teaching and a life. I taught 2nd gr. for 28 1/2 yr and only dreamed about having time to quilt. Thanks for sharing your talent.

  2. Will you make one for me, too? LOL! FAmily always comes before blogging, and so should sewing. So don’t feel you need to apologize for anything. Just relax and do what you can, when you can.

  3. I’m not a blogger for the very reasons you are apologizing. Post when you can and I won’t be anything but excited especially if you are showing off something as great as that quilt!

  4. That is going to be a marvelous quilt! I really love the way you mixed up all the different sizes of stars. And I second what Sunny said. Real life always comes first. I just love seeing what you’re working on. My own blog is sadly neglected. I need to find some time to document the things I’ve been working on.

  5. You are so funny. You make me chuckle. Let’s face it. There needs to be at least 36 hour’s in a day not 24. We quilter’s need at least that. Life is too busy with other stuff. Like cooking and cleaning and well you know what I mean. B-E-A-U-T-I-F-U-L QUILT. You amaze me every time.

  6. It’s beautiful! No wonder you keep looking at it. If you are like me, you are saying, “I can’t believe I made all these blocks!” =) As far as acknowledging comments, you don’t ever owe me an acknowledgement! You visit my blog, I visit yours, when we have time (in the summer!), we can do more. =) I quite honestly don’t acknowledge all the comments, and I would much rather have someone visit my blog than send me an email about my comment. That’s the way it was when we all first started blogging, and I liked it better. =)

  7. Its looking fabulous! Such a lot of work… but worth it for sure! I only blog about half the things I make- Just getting decent pictures and sitting down to write takes time. And then add everything else life wise and its totally understandable. Just having time to create is wonderful! You do just fine! ~Laurie

  8. I never did start that QAL. Seeing yours now, I want to start it. Next year I have set myself a goal of 1 quilt a week. I have been cutting projects and putting them in a clear box with the pattern so I can grab and start. I should start cutting this but I know it will take more than a week to make. I can maybe make it my leader and ender each week.
    No need for apologies. You are a busy lady and responsibilities come first. This is our hobby and can only be fitted in around everything else.
    Julie

  9. I love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have mine started and some of it cut and this makes me want to go right in there and start sewing but today I have to clean house! life –as happens–has gotten in the way of me sewing lately and cleaning house…we all understand that you cannot get to your emails…I certainly do…you are writing to us all when you blog and that is what matters to us..showing us your wonderful creations…it is so much fun…thank you —most of the time–for your wonderful ideas for us…but sometimes I wish you would slow down as I can’t keep up with you!!!!! the quilt is beautiful and that is my 2014 project #1!!!!!!

  10. Having done your Film at Five and 1/2 way through the second I’m looking at your stars and placement and ohh’ing/ahh’ing

    Guess once Christmas is done with I will have a go at this one

  11. Love this star quilt. Good luck juggling life. I think your doing a beautiful job. My house too resides on the safe side of dirty and emails and blogging often get neglected. As my mom says you are getting the important stuff done.

    1. he Oh My Starsquilt is the result of a quilt along hosted by Thought and Found around2 years ago. Here is a link: http://thoughtandfound.wordpress.com/oh-my-stars/ The original plan was twin size and with a variety of block centers. I made a queen size with all “plain” stars. It is a little tedious when you get to all the little blocks, but one a day…you will finish. To be more specific, the blocks finish at 4″, 8″ and 12″.

    1. The Oh My Starsquilt is the result of a quilt along hosted by Thought and Found around2 years ago. Here is a link: http://thoughtandfound.wordpress.com/oh-my-stars/ The original plan was twin size and with a variety of block centers. I made a queen size with all “plain” stars. It is a little tedious when you get to all the little blocks, but one a day…you will finish.

      To be more specific, the blocks finish at 4″, 8″ and 12″.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

