Bittersweet

Today was the last day of my second year teaching.  So much learning, for me and, hopefully, for the students, too.  

I ended the year with an intensive week (a week of seminar style learning on a single subject).  Our course of study was entitled “Be a Hero” and included CPR, AED and First Aid certification along with a home safety check up and fire safety training.  Busy and happy times that give the students very useful skills.  As I told them, I would be happy if you came back to me in 20 years and said, “I never needed to use any of that,”  but, it is more likely that you would come back and say, “Boy, I’m glad I learned that because…”

Lately this blog has been very silent.  There has been a little sewing going on, but not as much as I would like.  But, now, there will be a little more time and I hope to share some of it with you.

I am working on a new scrap pattern called Calico Rose.  

A third All Small week is planned, probably for the second week in June.

And, I am definitely going to clean my sewing room.  It is SCARY right now.  Piles everywhere.  That doesn’t bother everyone, but it bothers me.  I am more productive and creative in a orderly space.

So, that’s about all for now.  I hope to be back very soon with pictures and updates to share.  In the meantime, I will consider how time flies when you are having fun.  And how it feels when all that fun ends.  Even temporarily. 

Bittersweet. 

6 thoughts on “Bittersweet

  1. How wonderful that you are feeling that way about teaching. The best teachers do. =) You need a break, though. Some fun YOU time! What a great idea to help the students get the knowledge and certifications.

  2. I’m glad you’re a teacher. There’s nothing more important than good teachers who really care about their students, and it saddens me that we, as a society, don’t appreciate and reward teachers better for the hard and important work you do. Thumbs up and have a great summer!

  3. I know how busy the end of the school year can be. I am a retired teacher myself. I sometimes miss the connection between teacher and student. But all in all I am more relaxed for sure. But as a quilter I am always thinking of the next project and eager to get to it. I have not finished several quilts. Ok, 11 quilts and other projects. That is because I think ahead too much and just have to start it. SIGH!! This is my downfall. Hubby says finish at least 3 before I start another, but oh how I love that new project, and the one after that and so on and so forth. Lets face it ladies, I think if your a quilter there is always going to be the next project or the next idea, and there will always be another one not done. When I pray I ask God to let me finish all I have started before He takes me. Well, lets see, right now as it stands I will have to be 287 years old before I go. Go to go. Lots to do! Oh look at that quilt, maybe I’ll just sneak a peek at the directions????

  4. like you Kathy I am a prolific starter!!!! I have at last count close to 20 started quilt tops..when I say ‘started’ I mean the fabric is gathered, the pattern is with the fabric and possibly some of the cutting is done..but before I get much further another one comes along that I want to do…I just finished a top I cut out in 2003 and of course before it was done I decided to use Deanna’s Growing Up Odd Quilt as a leader/ender….I did finally finish my top and so now I HAVE to finish GUOQ before I finish up another one I have had started for so many years…I just cannot change at this age..i have tried..but it is soooo much fun…

    there are two kinds of people who make up this world that never get the respect they deserve—parents and teachers…Deanna is wonderful at both…you deserve your summer of sewing…

  5. Teachers are important!

    I’m looking forward to seeing “Calico Rose.” Even the name is intriguing.

    Enjoy the studio cleanup and enjoy the start of your summer!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

