All Small Three: Day One

Today features a mug rug or snack mat by Sneezerville.  The quilting really caught my eye.  Plus, it used two inch squares.  What is not to love?!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I was concerned about the size–at about 7″ it would be a little small if you have a large mug or prefer substantial (multi-cookie) snacks. Then I realized that the tutorial writer had used 1/2″ seam allowances, not the standard 1/4″ used for quilting.  Well, that changes things.

The new dimensions for the finished piece are 9″ x 10-1/2″.  The four pieces of background fabric should be 5″ x 6-1/4″ , 3-1/2″ x 6-1/4″, 5″ x 3-1/2″, 3-1/2″ x 3-1/2″ , and you need more like 50″ of binding. The back, of course, needs to be larger than 9″ x 10-1/2″. I pieced mine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So, there you have it.  It took some adjustment, but I like the results.  If you wanted the original dimensions you could use 1-1/2″ squares and a standard 1/4″ seam allowance to produce very nearly the same effect.

Enjoy!

ps–If you make one and would like to share, please do!  I am interested in hearing how this tutorial works for you. ddt

pps–It would be easy to add a few squares and make placemats.  ddt

7 thoughts on “All Small Three: Day One

  1. I love it but think I will make my daughter some placemats…I like the idea for placemats…love the design and the back …the quilting would be fun to do in the evening when I like to be doing something with my hands..thanks for the idea…

  2. Neat idea. I’ve been thinking about making some mug rugs and some placemats. This is a very good idea to use up a LOT of my scrapes. I have a lot of scrapes and a lot of scrapes from my scrapes and maybe even more from those scrapes. I had a idea a while back. When we trim our pieces, square off, save them. Yes even the tiniest pieces. I put them in a bowl I keep beside my machine. Then you put them outside by your bird feeders and the birds use them for their nests. What do you think?? They love them. Makes the nest softer and insulates it also. Just a crazy idea from a crazy old woman. Just no BIG pieces. It’s too much for them to handle. I cut my long pieces to about 4 inches. And no wider then 1 inch. Too heavy for the small birds.

  3. This very morning, I had just decided that I was going to make place mats for some long time friends who are finally tying the knot this summer. I shall be adapting this idea – I really like the looks of these! Thanks so much for the idea!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

