New Life For Leftovers

In 2010  I made a block of the month quilt for a local quilt shop. You can read more about it HERE.

For years (four years) the scraps have been here looking to be made into…something. I vowed this would be the year.

And here it is…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A throw quilt, and…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A pillow.

No tutorials here, just playing with fabric and taking inspiration as it came from the colors and sizes of scraps on hand.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The top finishes at 49″x56″ and the pillow is a standard 18″ square.

They are fun in a scrappy-happy kind of way, I think.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This set is being donated to the Real Men Can Cook fundraiser dinner and silent auction being held locally in September to benefit the battered womens shelter.  I hope it contributes substantially to this important cause.

13 thoughts on “New Life For Leftovers

  1. I’ll bet it does! That’s a great set and who wouldn’t want it? I love the way you added a star into the mix – may be my favorite star, too. =) You are so good with coordinating borders, and that backing is just a wonderful improv piece from leftovers. Great finish!

  2. It is absolutely beautiful and so organized. It should bring in a bundle for a good cause. Keep up the excellent work. Enjoy your blog so much and look forward to it.

  3. I made—well I have almost finished—that BOM quilt..this reminded me to get it out and finish it…I won’t have enough scraps left to do that much with them but will do something…that is a beautiful set and a worthy cause..

  4. Absolutely beautiful and what a wonderful cause it’s benefiting. I think scrappy quilts describe most of us……a little thrown together, but oh so useful!

  5. Excellent…. I was going to recommend you hold onto it until the next wedding your invited too. Hope it makes a bunch of cash for the shelter. Nice job.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

