More Information On Charitable Quilt

I, too, was pleasantly STUNNED by the amount of money raised by the quilt/pillow set that was donated to a local charity.  I had set a reserve of $200, feeling that it should make that much or I would donate cash and give the quilt away.  Yes, giving away something people can’t afford to buy makes perfect sense to this quilter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My original understanding was that the format was a silent auction, but they did something different this year.  People attending the event (lunch or dinner) could purchase raffle tickets.  I think they were $1 each or 6/5$.  Then, they put the tickets in a jar by the item they were interested in.  If the jars (quart Mason jars) became full they were emptied into boxes in the back room.

People seemed very willing to spend one dollar, or even five dollars, to get a chance at something they wanted.  According to the event organizer, at the end of the evening $2140 was spent on raffle tickets and a very happy person got to take a quilt home.

As the maker of the quilt, I am thrilled.  While I was willing to make a donation, I could not possibly donate $2140.  But, you can bet I am already considering what I might be able to share next year. 🙂

If there are further questions, please let me know and I will try to answer them.  Maybe a format of this type would work in your area, too.

12 thoughts on “More Information On Charitable Quilt

  1. It has also been my experience that a raffle generated more donations than an auction. An auction, to be profitable, requires at least two people desperately wanting the item. I once saw a quilt go for a lot (can’t remember if it was $700.00 or $7,000.00–either would have seemed like a lot to me) at a Mennonite Relief sale. Two groups were bidding quite energetically. But usually quilts went in low hundreds.

  2. We have raffles like that here and I like it a great deal. Sometimes I will put all my tickets into one box or scatter them around. I never thought of donating one of my quilts like that but now that you have done this, I know a restaurant that has these charity raffles all the time.

  3. What a compliment! I would be thrilled! It’s nice that the result was so generous. I cringe when some quilts go for less than the cost of the supplies,so sad for everyone. I hope the next one gets the same results. My quilt guild supplies throw quilts for the women and their children who use the shelters.

  4. I’ve never heard of this type of raffle before, but what a good idea. Once again, well done to you for all the money you helped raise for the charity 🙂

  5. I won something at a quilt shop that was like that one time – a whole set of batiks! Your idea makes perfect sense to me, too. =) Must be a quilter thing.

  6. Makes sense to me and yes, people are more willing to spend $1 to $5 for the chance of a win rather then bid $2,000.
    It sort of reminds me of cent sales at the church that I would sometimes go to with my Mum when I was much, much younger. You bought a whole pile of tickets and put them in the containers next to what you would like to win. Mum always said it was a good income for the church ladies guild.

  7. beautiful quilt and pillow set and how great for them to make that kind of money..our area is too small to bring in that kind of income on a quilt..i made quilts every year for about 5 years for Relay for Life and when it got down to the last one I made that only sold $165 worth of tickets I decided I’d rather just give them the money—that was about 1/2 what it cost for materials and quilting…but it is fun doing that…you did good!!! and it had a lot to do with the beautiful quilt you decided to make..

  8. I always prefer that format to a silent auction. I figure, if you do it this way, you can get money out of almost every attendee but a silent auction only gets money from the winners! So glad your quilt helped raise money for a good cause. I made a quilt to help the marching band raise money and kids sold tickets and 100% of each dollar went into their band account. The first year, we raised about $2,500 that way. The next year, we didn’t have a big trip loooming so they only sold about half that. I do love when I can use my needle & thread talent to help generate money I can’t afford to write a check for!

  9. Wow! What a great result. You must be justifiably pleased. I, too, am working on a quilt I plan to donate for a raffle. Just wanted to let you know that giving people things (quilts and knitted articles in my case) that they can not afford to buy for themselves makes perfectly good sense to me too!

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

