I Make Bread

The other evening Husband and I were on a hot date to the grocery store. You understand that is sometimes how it is after nearly 20 years of married life.  We were wandering along when he said, “I left my glasses in the car.  Surely that doesn’t say $5.39 a loaf.”  It did say $5.39 on the little tag under the loaf of bread he was pointing to.

“That,” I replied, “Is why I make our bread.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Beside that, it makes the house smell good and gives me a great feeling of satisfaction.  And, it only costs about a $1/loaf.

Here is my basic recipe.

BASIC, GOOD BREAD

Makes four loaves (easily make two with a half recipe–good for rolls, also)

4 c warm water

2/3 c sugar

4 c whole wheat flour (You can make with all white flour, too, or even a higher proportion of whole wheat.)

2 T yeast

2/3 c vegetable oil

1-1/2 T salt

1/2 c powdered milk

6 c all purpose flour

Mix first four ingredients.  Let sit for 10 minutes.  Then add the remaining ingredients to make a soft dough. Knead until smooth.  Let rise until double.  Divide into four sections. Shape each section into a loaf and place in greased pans.  Let rise.  Bake in preheated 375F  oven for 35 minutes.

If I make this while people are at home, one loaf gets eaten right away, hot with butter and jam or honey.  One is for sandwiches and the other two are frozen for later in the week.

If you want to have the fancy tops, score with a sharp knife just before putting in the oven.

21 thoughts on “I Make Bread

  1. This sounds really yummy and easy, but I’m wondering if the T is for teaspoon or tablespoon. Since it’s a capital T, I’m guessing it’s a tbls. but want to be sure. Thanks so much for the recipe.

  2. I make … other stuff. I don’t make much bread, and though I encourage Jim to make bread, he doesn’t make it as often as I’d like. However, we do other stuff like make yogurt, granola, … most things from whole foods. It’s worth the time and effort for us.

  3. Those loaves are beautiful. Thanks for the recipe. I think I may try it because in the last couple of months, even the “cheap” bread has doubled in price! Just store brand, plain white or whole wheat bread is about two dollars a loaf in all the groceries around here – maybe not Aldi’s, haven’t checked there lately. This looks a little easier than my recipe.

    I see you use the glass loaf pans, as I do. Right now, they have meatloaf in them, though. LOL Two isn’t enough, I need to find more at Goodwill. No Deseret here, sadly, but probably wouldn’t find loaf pans there anyway! Actually, since mid-summer, I’ve seen huge jumps in cheese, milk, bread and meat prices here. If I were feeding a family of four, including teenagers, I would have to take on an extra job just to buy groceries!

  4. Your recipe looks great I do have a question though The first quantity of flour mentioned is 4 C of whole wheat flour then at the bottom of the recipe there is another 6 cups of all purpose so that is 10 cups in total is that correct?

    1. Yes, 10 cups total for four loaves. They are listed separately because the whole wheat goes in with the water, yeast and sugar. Then, after proofing, the oil, powdered milk, salt and white flour are added.

  5. I’m with you…I love making homemade bread, rolls,and cinnamon rolls…..my recipe is so easy, and can be refrigerated for a week. When I know the grandkids are coming over, whip up a batch of dough, and homemade pizza sauce and they are ready to roll! I am going to try your recipe….it sounds wonderful.

  6. I have encouraged families to do this because the cost of everything has gone up and we can control some of the spending. If you let the children they see where their food comes from and the cost savings. Thank you for sharing and when one lives alone the freezing part is the best.

  7. I have a bread machine (used a gift card from my grandkids to get it) as I cannot work with yeast for some reason…don’t know if it is my lack of patience waiting for it—I DO know it is that—or what but I do convert regular recipes for my machine and this is one I will try…I will fourth it…i’ll let you know how it works..it sure looks and sounds good..i had to get a new fridge a couple of months ago and have very little freezer space in this small fridge so no room to freeze more than one loaf of bread what with all the other stuff I put in there..thanks for the recipe..

  8. Hi, Your bread looks so amazing I can almost smell it! I used to make bread, but that was when I was still standing; standing puts you higher up, and allows you to lean into the dough when you knead it; counter level is to high, and table level is lower but still to high to knead. But… I do have a bread machine and that would do the knead cycle for me. And I have certainly been missing good healthy homemade bread. I will try your recipe; but I was also wondering if you have a good recipe for a honey oatmeal loaf? Or if any of your other readers have a tried and true recipe?
    Thanks so much. Cate

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

