More Leftovers

Sometimes I get scrap bags, and sometimes I get “leftovers” bags.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leftovers are pieces of projects–sometimes blocks, sometimes a part of a top, sometimes it is hard to figure out.  These leftovers were long strips of smaller strips sewn together, more or less coin style.

They were not all the same width, but there were a number about 3″ wide.  I tore out the pieces that didn’t suit, added some 2″ strips of sashing and, ta-dah, a top!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This top is 34″ x 35″, just right for a baby somewhere. I’ll get it quilted after I finish those memory quilts.  Getting closer, but moving slower, too many distractions–like leftovers.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I don’t use everything I get, just check my trashcan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

But, sometimes leftovers just need a little help to be something that somebody will love.

11 thoughts on “More Leftovers

  1. What a lovely simple colourful quilt – it will make somebody happy 🙂

    I don’t have any quilting friends so never get the chance to share any scraps.

  2. I love getting leftovers from others..since Curves has closed I don’t get as many as I used to..we had 3 or 4 other piecers that went there…the gal I cut for always gives me her scraps and also her sister does too..they have a bag ready for me and she forgot to bring it today…it is very good quality fabric store fabric…I love getting it..which is why I am loaded with tomato boxes full of scraps…

    I love that quilt..have never made a Chinese coin quilt but made mug rugs using them…you are so clever with your leftovers..

  3. You and I are the same type of quilter. I get scrap bags too and turn them into something good. I can’t believe what some quilters consider “scraps”. Oh well, just keep passing them on to those of us who love working with piles of pieces!

  4. Thanks for giving me the right words — I get people’s scraps and leftovers too. I also have coin-type strips in such a variety of fabrics that really don’t work together. They, too, are in different widths. I have not yet decided what to do with them but am considering cutting equilateral triangles and putting them back together with other fabrics.

    I’m so glad I found your blog — I’m really enjoying jumping around looking at different posts.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

