Growing Up Odd Finished

It seems I always have a backlog of finished tops that are not yet quilted.  This is mostly for financial reasons.  I can manage up to about twin size tops on my old Pfaff 130, but larger ones need to be hand quilted or sent to a quilter.  If they are a lot of little pieces (most of my quilts are) they are sent to a quilter.  Let the machine handle all those seams!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My records indicate that the Growing Up Odd top was finished sometime the last week of March 2014.  It set only about a year waiting for quilting…not too bad.  I have some that, well, we’ll just say have been waiting LONGER.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Back to the point–quilter Barbara finished Growing Up Odd beautifully.  She used an all over design (well suited to this type of quilt) of swirls with an occasional abstract flower thrown in.  I am really happy with the results.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Right now the quilt is on the bed in the guest bedroom reminding me that Spring is just around the corner.  If you have the urge to create a Growing Up Odd quilt of your own, check out the tutorial.  It is a great leader-ender and the results, while a little odd, are spectacular!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

12 thoughts on “Growing Up Odd Finished

  1. I’m currently working on my Fading Charms quilt. It has been great fun! Growing Up Odd is on my list. Thanks for the tutorials.

  2. Don’t know if I would do this quilt. Beautiful as it is, at this point I just have too much on my plate. I too have a lot ready but cannot afford to have them quilted. I have a brother and the arm hole is way too small to quilt anything above a lap quilt. But I keep on making tops which is what I like to do. Let someone else pay for the quilting. I’ve been thinking about giving a gift of a quilt with everything included. Top, back and batting. What do you think? Tacky? I don’t think so. I have so many people who want this and that. I am just tired doing all the work while they enjoy the finished product. And not get anything for it. Let them pay a little and maybe they will understand instead how expensive it is and not get upset with me when I say no. Maybe I can start a new trend.

  3. Deanna, I just had to let you know how much I love this quilt and will make one, but in a large lap quilt that I can quilt myself. My problem is the same as yours, in that financially, I can’t afford to have them quilted, but love making them, so I have several drawers filled with quilt tops. Thanks for sharing with us.

  4. I have dozens of tops that aren’t quilted..i love making them but cannot afford to have them quilted….so when someone comes along that wants a quilt—always in my family—I ask them to pay for the quilting and I furnish everything else..i never get tired of doing this…I want to leave a legacy of quilts to them..some of my family have 6 or 8 of my quilts each—I could not tell you how many my daughter has—but I love to make them so I will continue…

    I finished my Growing Up Odd top the other day and I love it..it is great as a leader/ender and that is how I did mine…I laid mine out differently than yours…I love yours but am satisfied with mine too…there are many different ways it can be laid out..

    the quilting is beautiful …it really sets it off..i like overall quilting…most quilts can handle that very well…

    thanks for the tutorial..

  5. Just beautiful! I have been gradually clearing out my scrap bins and doing the Bonnie Hunter thing cutting them in various sizes….your quilts are so lovely, they are on my “someday” list….so much to do, so little time! Thanks for sharing.

Thanks for taking the time to comment. It is nice to hear from you.

